Gold n Trout

Well yesterday was my birthday and I was supposed to fish in the Pirtek Challenge but because I got on the sauce the previous night to the early hours, those plans were thrown out. So today I decided to do a solo mission out to Lorna. I left at dark o’clock
Dark O'Clock.JPG
It was a pretty bumpy ride out there and when I got there I nearly didn’t drop the anchor because it was a wee bit bumpy. The sounder looked really good. So on the way to my goldie mark I saw patches of fish so I decided to try a new spot. Wasn’t long before the first fish came over the side. And I had 2 fish that had swallowed both hooks. bl..dy garbage guts or what? They spewed up heaps of crabs too.
65cm Goldie.JPG
65cm Lorna GS.JPG
Bag o Gold.JPG
And in all the excitement I had myself a mischief :kiss: . Got a few looks at the ramp when I got back.
Shorts Blowout.JPG
I then hooked up to a fish that I thought was a really BIG goldie. Finally saw colour and it turned out to be the biggest jewfish I have ever seen. It was then it realized that it was hooked and decided to head towards Christmas Island at a rate of knots. Of course it wanted to run with the tide. Locked up the drag and a burning thumb on the spool. I didn’t even look like stopping it. Snapped the 100lb leader. Must have hit the reef :cry:

I then had to move so I went to Jeffish’s jewie mark. Missed it by 50m as the current and wind were racing at this stage. Too hard pulling up the anchor all the time on my own so I stayed put. Heaps of redfish so I took the fillets off one and straight away a 50cm coral trout. Note that the first photo due to the shorts blowout I had to crop the photo as it wasnt, well, for the kiddies :rofl: .
50cm Trout.JPG
Who's Fat.JPG
All kinds of yum.JPG
5 mins later the other trout came up. I was on some serious rocky bottom as I lost a cr.p load of gear there.

JewieQueen

Re: Gold n Trout

Post by JewieQueen »

Well done Lats 8)

nice goldies and trout :mrgreen:
It has always been my private conviction that any man who pits his intelligence against a fish and loses has it coming.

Give a man a fish, and he can eat for a day. But teach a man how to fish, and he'll be dead of mercury poisoning inside of three years.

“Fishing, with me, has always been an excuse to drink in the daytime”

"Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish."
smarty

Post by smarty »

Awesome day out by the looks of those fish Lats,cant wait till i get my first decent goldie... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

happy bday, hope ya got sum new shorts for it. good stuff cracking goldies :mrgreen:

Awesome work Lats. Gotta be happy with that

Great post Lats some good golides and trouts. It's a long way to do a solo trip mate.
Might need to invest in a anchor whinch, I had mine for the last 4 months and I reckon it's the best mod/accessory i ever purchased.
The deckie loves it as well.
mullet93

Post by mullet93 »

Nice haul there, gotta be happy with that
uniball

Post by uniball »

Good job lats. Not a bad late birthday present

Great post,

Yummy fish.

Hally10

Post by Hally10 »

Looks like a great feed lats well done. You boat looks like a Formosa. What size have you got. I'm keen to get a bit wide but concerned of the boat size.

ponyplay wrote:happy bday, hope ya got sum new shorts for it. good stuff cracking goldies :mrgreen:
I did actually. The Mrs bought me some G-Loomis boardies :D
balou wrote:Great post Lats some good golides and trouts. It's a long way to do a solo trip mate.
Might need to invest in a anchor whinch, I had mine for the last 4 months and I reckon it's the best mod/accessory i ever purchased.
The deckie loves it as well.
Actually the last time I was trying to get the anchor up I was trying to break the cable ties on the anchor and pull it off backwards but because I was on my own I didnt want to directly drive over the anchor and risk it wrapping on the prop. The large amount of side tension on put on the bolt that runs through the roller on the bow sprit stripped the nut off and bent the side of the bow sprit. There was an almighty bang. A winch might be a good idea. What make/model do you have?

Great way to spend your birthday mate,at least you got to see a meter + jewie
Might have been karma him busting you off for fishing on my spot :rofl: .Still wondering just what sort of mischief you get up to when you nearly go comando with the shorts :uhh:

bloooody good trip and another great post,,well in, indeed :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :moon:

Happy Birthday

Lats I bought the stressfree midi free fall. So far I had no problems just pull up to the mark and drop the anchor. No need to tie off as the other brands.

Bought it at the boat show last year from the owners son. I got there as he was packing up and walk away with a cracking deal and freebies :D

Hally10 wrote:Looks like a great feed lats well done. You boat looks like a Formosa. What size have you got. I'm keen to get a bit wide but concerned of the boat size.
I have a 610 Top Ender. It is wide and high sides like the Formosa boats
jeffish wrote:Great way to spend your birthday mate,at least you got to see a meter + jewie
Might have been karma him busting you off for fishing on my spot :rofl: .Still wondering just what sort of mischief you get up to when you nearly go comando with the shorts :uhh:

bloooody good trip and another great post,,well in, indeed :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :moon:

Happy Birthday
The jew was at my spot. I just stole the trout off your spot :mrgreen: No mischief... all above board. Would have been nice to have the wife there to rub in sunscreen though :o
balou wrote:Lats I bought the stressfree midi free fall. So far I had no problems just pull up to the mark and drop the anchor. No need to tie off as the other brands.

Bought it at the boat show last year from the owners son. I got there as he was packing up and walk away with a cracking deal and freebies :D
Brad the Lad

Post by Brad the Lad »

nice fishing mate, well done. some quality table fish there.
fishing and beers,

wonder what the poor people are up to!!!