Repair or replace????

Talk about the gear you can't afford and knots you can't tie.
natural sparks

Repair or replace????

Post by natural sparks »

I snapped the tip just before first runner on a wilson live fibre (i think)
Is it repairable or should my 2.5yr old inherit it
Any ideas and if repairable where do i go

Any info appreciated

When I grow up I can't wait to be a grown up...........
bushie

Post by bushie »

good excuse for a new rod! and, you can fix the old one for about $5!

Re: Repair or replace????

Hi Natural Sparks,

I had once the same trouble, and the guys at the shop in town fixed the problem for me in just a few minutes, for cheaper than if I had to buy the parts at A-Mart...
And the rod looked like new.

But It wasn't on a livefiber though.

rossco

Post by rossco »

You can repair with a new tip but the rod tip action will change slightly. You will most likely need to go up a little in ID size. If I was back in town I'd do it for you for nix. You can do it your self using 5 min araldite or if you like you can get a hot melt glue stick from the tackle shop. It's easy as long as you keep the tip lined up with the rest of the guides. The reason behind the glue and araldite is that if the tip gets damaged you apply a little heat and it will come off. A little heat being the operative word though. Try it on the bit you broke off if you still have it. cheers

The boys in the city on Cavenagh street will usually repair while you wait, if you have never done it before heaps easier getting them to do it! They do a greta job.Probably cost ya $5.00-10.00.
Cheers Muntzy.
natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

Hey guys may have been a wee bit wobbley on the feet when this happened.
Got it out today to put in the ute to take to the shop and found that it actually snapped between the third and forth runners
I'll take it in and see what they say but still think it will be compomised when your on that good fish

mate , gont one does it for $5 bucks while you wait. Useless you like mucking around with glue ,guides etc give it to Craig to stick in his aircon vent.

BIN IT......too far gone Mertz.........

I had one of those livefibre jobbies....and I had a big muddy in a bucket...and for some stupid reason I decided to poke the muddy with the butt of the rod and he reached up grabbed the rod just below the real seat and crunched it...no more rod :banghead:
natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

Well I now have a five foot jig stick which will either work or it won't but for 5 bucks it will do
But I also have a shiney new 8 kg livefibre
There will be no beer consumed whilst using it this time
That's what I will tell the financial controller any way