Datsun 1600's

Introduce yourself, talk about beer, crocs, headlines, dugongs or Paris Hilton.

Datsun 1600's

Going through my computer the other day I found a few pics of my good old Datto 1600 in action.

They are a bit of a cult thing in the rallying community. Pretty rare to find an original one these days, or many still rallying, too many have been rallied :grin:

or wrecked getting beefed up for cutting laps down Mitchell street :banghead: pumping stereos and sipping lattes, not my thing.

Anyway they are in my blog, just thought I would share, maybe there is another die hard out there.

http://www.fishingterritory.com/weblog.php?w=45

If you never owened one you never know...............

What a flash back........bullet proof..........had my Dato for years took it every where, what a car...........even better then my cooper s.
Will go through the album now and see if i can find it.

Memories..............

I went through three in a couple of years after I sold my HG Monaro........boy was that a dumb move :bonk:

Angry

Post by Angry »

Dingo, I think you shoudl send me the keys so i can look after it.

You're right finding a good one is like rocking horse manure !.

Here's a pic of one just to get ya going !!!

Wish I still had my one owner Ducati 750SS :banghead: :banghead:
.... & my HK 327 Monaro :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
Angry

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Nice foters, brings back memories.

Mate had one with a Weber carb on it. That's all I remember - him bragging about his Weber carb.

But it was probably faster than my EJ Holden wagon 138 grey motor with twin SU carbs, extractors and two-inch pipe, plus hot dog muffler. Not to forget the chrome rocker cover and sideplate and blue-painted block. I hotted up a tractor engine :lol:

Money to buuuuuurrrn.
Last edited by Matt Flynn on Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

my stupid sell off was a HQ statesman 308 with all the options including leather upholstery I was the 2nd owner missus didn't like it and we traded it for a brand new gemini wagon :jester: don't have the hq or the missus now...miss that car heaps
My daughter fell for one of the "Datto Boys" on the sunshine coast...they were everywhere....think one of the mongrels had his way with her as well :hunting:
Angry

Post by Angry »

I dunno which onw of you I feel sorrier for.....

Someone who hotted up a grey motor, er Tractor Engine ........(more like a boat anchor) :lol:

Or someone who sold a Statesman with a 308 ...fffffor for for a GEMINI !! :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Sorry boys, my first regod street car was a HR with 186 & tripple SU's had a 5 speed Corona box in it , munro buckets, custom door trims, 8 x 13 Torana rims painted Sierra TAn (HZ metallic brown) smooooth
Angry

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
luke79

Post by luke79 »

haha, im gonna get shot down here im sure, but my first car was a gemini and i spent an absolute shitload on it.. all show though.
i used to take it along to car shows and it was in a summernats video many years ago.. nice little car, i will try to find some pics.

as for 1600's i used to love them, used to be a few nice ones down canberra way with fj20 turbos and sr20 turbos. would love to get my hands on one and tinker around, mind you i have a long list of cars id love to get my hands on...
Angry

Post by Angry »

Now if the guy form Lotto rang I;d need a bigger shed to hold a few toys.

66 Mustang fastback
69 Mustang Fastback
69 Camaro
Porsche GT2 RS
Porsche Carrera Turbo
Ferrari F40
Ferrari 288 GTO
Lambo Muira

Ducati 750 SS
Ducati 900 SS
Ducati Mike Hailwood Replica
BMW R90S
Norton 850 Dominator

etc, etc, etc

Too mant toys not enough dough
Angry

Angry wrote:Dingo, I think you shoudl send me the keys so i can look after it.

You're right finding a good one is like rocking horse manure !.

Here's a pic of one just to get ya going !!!

Wish I still had my one owner Ducati 750SS :banghead: :banghead:
.... & my HK 327 Monaro :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
Nice Angry, I am gathering this is yours.

Angry wrote:Now if the guy form Lotto rang I;d need a bigger shed to hold a few toys.

66 Mustang fastback
69 Mustang Fastback
69 Camaro
Porsche GT2 RS
Porsche Carrera Turbo
Ferrari F40
Ferrari 288 GTO
Lambo Muira

Ducati 750 SS
Ducati 900 SS
Ducati Mike Hailwood Replica
BMW R90S
Norton 850 Dominator

etc, etc, etc

Too mant toys not enough dough
Pretty expensive garage that one.

I am pretty happy with my GS, two dattos and 80 series in the garage at the moment ( I just hope the 80 series keeps going and going and going, it is at 450K now) I have also owned a quick Mazda rx3 and a WB panelvan that me and the wife travelled the coast in. I would not mind those back.
Angry

Post by Angry »

Not my 1600 , but I took the pic, as much as I love muckin around with em & have always wanted a good one,

I couldnt bring my self to rally one, too much damage,..........especially with a lead foot like mine :grin: :grin:

I had a few cars I done Up & used as raod cars but ran them in Lap dash's & sprints around Winton & State Motorkhana rounds..

Wish I had my Duke & Munro back though, too young & sill to appreciate what I had at the time....

Wanna check out a few choice cars & garages check this out, better have the best part a=of a coupoem of hours to look through it !!! http://www.luxury4play.com/automotive/3 ... -pics.html
Angry

on a different topic to the really cool cars and bikes...what about the truly horrendous? after we/SHE bought the dumbarse gemini we moved from Lismore to the sunny coast...and of course the little red pipsqueak car couldn't pull the skin of a bowl of custard let alone a big trailer full of furniture...so I bought a purple XB wagon of a "mate" for $50 with a months rego to tow it ...developed a massive oil leak 5 km up the pacific highway and proceeded to inhale 1

on a different topic to the really cool cars and bikes...what about the truly horrendous? after we/SHE bought the dumbarse gemini we moved from Lismore to the sunny coast...and of course the little red pipsqueak car couldn't pull the skin of a bowl of custard let alone a big trailer full of furniture...so I bought a purple XB wagon of a "mate" for $50 with a months rego to tow it ...developed a massive oil leak 5 km up the pacific highway and proceeded to inhale 16 litres of oil for the 300 km drive...which it then sprayed out the back and all over the trailer load of furniture
of course I was the wanker because I had bought the xb
:banghead:
topendboy

Post by topendboy »

The 'ol Datsuns... best jumping cars built.... had plenty 1600's and 1200's. Raced, jumped, crashed.. there was nothing better in the 80's.. gee wizz i'm showing my age... i'd love to get my hands on another good 1600 again

Return to “Barramundi Banter”