How do you feel about Kevin Rudd's departure?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

How do you feel about Kevin Rudd's departure?

Glad
40%
Sad
23%
It won't make any difference
37%

Total votes: 43

Not a RUDD fan at all but the way he was knifed by his party is disgraceful. Very un Australian.
Who do you vote in when you vote Labour? A bunch of union power brokers and factions. With a puppet out the front. What credability does gillard have when she has denied that she will take over the party numerous times in the last month?

This the real danger area the Australian voter needs to be aware of. You may vote for a front man or "clean skin" BUT there are dark forces, very powerful forces that may change your vote by their quiet little conspiracies in the back rooms.
Can the voter really trust such a party????? :-( :mrgreen:

I dont think Emperor Nero was "assasinated" as smoothly as krudd.. :wink:

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

Anything that helps get them across the line is fine by me. Can't believe anyone would want that bully boy Abbott to run the country. Workchoices anyone???? :fubird: People have short memories. Any low paid/ blue collar worker should be VERY worried about Abbott gaining power. Jeez, I'd rather have Costello as PM than Abbott. (Can't believe I just said that!)

The whole thing is media driven, as Jonesy said. Think he summed up what will happen perfectly.

What credability does gillard have when she has denied that she will take over the party numerous times in the last month?
Every politician in the history of politics involved in a leadership takeover has denied it right up until it happens. I honestly believe Gillard would have been happy to stay deputy if thats what the party wanted.

Hate all political parties as they are all the same full of c...p.

Aussie came out of the ecomonic down turn better than just about any other country. So who do we thank for that? Def not the present opossition.

You watch Gillard will call an election while she is experiencing the honeymoon period (before the end of the year) and romp in. Unless of course they can drag up some muck to sink her between now and then :idea: :idea:

bunji wrote:
drifter wrote:I'm no expert, but hasn't he done more good than bad. He did steer us out of the GFC. How many of us are still employed because of his actions. by his words he saved 500,000 jobs.

We the people voted for Kev, not Julia. Why do I get fined for not voting when it really doesn't come back to my vote??
your not serious= the fact that we were riding on the coat tails of the china boom and now that it has slowed so are we
Boom hasnt slowed down here much. All I hear is complaining about how long it will take to get the new berths and new rail line operational so they can ship more tons.
Largest tonnage export port in Southern Hemisphere and its running at full capacity. :roll:

Unfortunately there is truth in the comment "we get the pollies we deserve".

Many people seem more interested in what a politician looks and sounds like than the person's strengths, principles and policies.

Many of the comments on the news websites are moronic. It's worrying.

People voted for Rudd for good reason at the time and he worked hard at the job, but he had failings that came out in the wash.

He lost me with his stated desire to have 35 million people in Australia.

Dunno if things will be any different under Ms Gillard.

I think the Greens will win a lot of votes at the next election. That will motivate the mainstream parties, but it probably won't be good for recreational fishing.

Unfortunately there is truth in the comment "we get the pollies we deserve".
It's pretty hard when the stable's full of three legged donkeys :rofl: :rofl:
When was the last time you heard a Politition say that they were there for the people and you believed it! :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
:drinking1: :drinking1:
justin

Post by justin »

this back stabing has been going on in the labour part since they started. anyhow although i didnt like everything rudd did i would like to see some of you run a country. and get paid around 300 thousand a year. not an easy job.

as far a gillard goes if she can feel right about what she did then good luck to her. i dont trust her and her behaviour has confirmed it for me
Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest

Gotta admit, it's a worry that they turf Prime Ministers and Opposition Leaders so easily.

There are a lot of tough decisions to be made - do you turf the PM or Opposition Leader every time he/she makes unpopular decisions?

Sounds like an extension of the throwaway society.

That's the problem Matt.....the caucus want to make all the decisions, not leave it up to Rudd's little enclave........still a bit surprised the right backed Princess Fiona though :o

Enough of the banter fellas, let's consider the serious implications of a woman PM -

A regulation to make it illegal to leave the dunny seat up.

Fishing, drinking and shooting banned unless you've spent enough time with the missus.

The mind boggles at the changes we'll see between now and the next election.

our kids will be paying for glorified $ 1/2million tool sheds aka libraries at schools etc in high taxes for the rest of their lives thus limiting our future economic growth

are you kidding? wasted money on libraries? surely you must be having a lend...i cant see anything wrong with educating my kids...if you are gonna have a go at a govt for mispent funds, look for other targets than health and education. Every dollar we spend on our health and education systems is long term smart money, and thinking of our children and their children's children. Dont care which side you support.

As far as people blowing up about 'not getting to vote in the PM' well guys/gals, we live in a westminster system that votes a party in. Our whole system is voting parties at the top level, not the person. Probably goes to show just how smart Rudd was that he ran a 'presidential' campaign...remember Kevin 07? I guess like it or not, his campaign was clever enough now to think we have a right to say who is the PM...we never have had that right constitutionally.

The reality is we only ever have been able to vote for a party, and until we get rid of the Monarchy, we only ever will be able to vote for a party at the national level. The party can put forward whoever they want.

Why anyone is surprised is beyond me .
Over many years, there has always been knifings, overthrows etc. It's just politics.
most are way underpaid in comparison to CEO’s of large organisations.
That is the problem, we get monkeys because we pay peanuts.
Rudd, Turnbull, Fraser, etc are very wealthy people so they aren’t there for the $$.
Many love the glory and power but I truly believe that most are there to make a positive difference.
Anyone who thinks they voted for Rudd is kidding themselves. You vote for the party
andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

Apparently Rudd got more than stabed in the back, they say he was admitted to hospital with 5 wooden horses stuck up his backside, doctors say his condition is stable... :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault
skylion9

Post by skylion9 »

bunji wrote:
drifter wrote:I'm no expert, but hasn't he done more good than bad. He did steer us out of the GFC. How many of us are still employed because of his actions. by his words he saved 500,000 jobs.

We the people voted for Kev, not Julia. Why do I get fined for not voting when it really doesn't come back to my vote??
your not serious= the fact that we were riding on the coat tails of the china boom and now that it has slowed so are we our kids will be paying for glorified $ 1/2million tool sheds aka libraries at schools etc in high taxes for the rest of their lives thus limiting our future economic growth why do you think these great visionaries want Australia to have a population it could never sustain its the only way their numbers add up.does anyone really believe this all happend over night?while our country has been slipping into the murk and our soldiers dying O/S these scum bags have only been focussed on faction fighting they are all tainted with the same brush as far as l am concernd and at the moment Australia is faced with the worst crop of pollies in its history godhelp us "you only get the politicians you deserve"

Having worked with the NSW Government on the BER program i can tell you first hand that the money was not wasted.

The purpose of the BER was not only to fix our schools but also to ensure the economy did not fall into recession. Therefore the project was more focused on time than cost.
This lead to the acceptance of higher than normal prices but these were the best prices available in a market were demand out stripped supply.

The problem with our schools these days from a building point of view is that a vast majority of them were built some time ago and buildings are not made to last forever. Therefore more and more money is spent maintaining them.
Indeed a lot of the BER money was spent on refurbishing existing buildings which were in very poor condition.

As far as the Rudd departure is concerned the main problem is not the politicians but society in general and their willingness to form views based on anything they hear on TV or read in a paper.
This leads to political system based on biased reporting, popularity and appearances rather than substance.

As Un-Australian as it is to stab someone in the back, it is just as Un-Australian to sink the boot into someone when they are down.

Rudd's hearts was in the right place and his policies did have some merit and at least he had guts to put his hand up when he made a mistake.

I think he could have done more had been given a chance to right his wrongs instead of being dumped as as soon as things went a little pear shaped.

Its like labor has switched footy teams mid season because it realized it might be tough to make the finals.

Return to “General Polls”