Blaze To Ford

Sea Reaper

Blaze To Ford

Post by Sea Reaper »

I returned yesterday from a 4 day trip fishing from Pt Blaze down to Cape Ford. :mrgreen: With the Bandit out due to Uni commitments myself and the Blue Water Addict hit the water at 11 am on Monday and were on our way to Blaze it up 8-) .

We started at Blaze wide and did around 5 drops for some trickies, tuskies, and some juvenile reds. We kept pushing along as ground that usually produces some quality fish was quiet. :evil:

We arrived at north Bateman wide in the late arvo to land a few average sized reds and got a good school of trickies come on averaging about 2 and a half kilo just before we left. Still unhappy with the fishing we pushed into inner Bateman for a last drop before Dinner. :banghead:

Arriving at inner Bateman we found some good bladder on the sounder and nailed a nice tuskie, more trickies (surprise) and I managed a 5 kg Reddy trolling squid on the bottom whilst pullin the pik!! :grin: :grin: Don’t ask! :-? :-? With that we thought it was time for din dins and a sleep.

We awoke at 6am to a fish trawler raping and pillaging Bateman. Surprisingly after 5 drops we hadn’t even landed a boxable fish??? :evil: :evil: We decided it was time to push down to Ford. We found a few lumps on the way to down where the addict smacked a couple of stonka troutaz, and I managed some sweet trickies and a donkey tuskie. :cheers:
We arrived at Cape Ford in the early arvo and after finding some good fish on the sounder we set the pick. :grin:

What followed on that drop and the next 2 was some of the most savagest goldie sessions I’ve seen fishing across the whole top end the only thing that didn’t set it apart was that was the biggest topped out around 4kg. :roll: To put it plainly the goldies were feral at Cape Ford and triple and double headers were standard and anything less was sub standard. :applause: The addict got a couple of double headers on jig and a heap of singles.

Amongst all of this we were surrounded by fields of Macs, Dolphins and Humpback whales. 8-) It was truly specy back drop for the fishing. A couple of other memorable moments at Ford were the addict getting a triple header of power tails all around the 6 kg which unfortunately I was not aloud to photograph (aaaaahahahahahaa) :grin: :grin: and a sailfish which nailed a small goldie on the way to the surface which was lost 50m from the boat when it decided the snap snap wasn’t worth it. :evil:

After two hectic days at of Goldie and mixed reef action o and 1 jew we decided to head north to some marks that I had the opportunity to fish a few years ago. We whopt it there onto more troutaz, a heap of nannygai, trickies, and as night fell the addict wacked a close to 7kg Red!! Whoop Whoop!!!! :jester: :jester:

The final day saw us cruising in a homeward direction stopping by at Bateman where BWA jumped in for a dive spearing a tuskie, 2 small trout, a trickie and a shark that got too close. We then had a couple of drops at inner blaze for not much then had a drop at Bowra which yielded 3 trout, 4 goldies and some small mixed crud.

All in all a top trip, Blaze and the Perons definetly fishes better on bigger tides and without fish trawlers. Regardless tho very memorable and hands down to the addict who is a top deckie (anyone would think he might do it for a job). Unfortunately time is on my back and its time to return to work, at least I got to whack Bathurst and Ford……..Until next time…………………………… :cheers: :drinking1:

More pics to come.............

Reaper

bl..dy good report :drinking1: spewing i missed out, but had to get some work done. theres always next time :catch:
dan 'blue water addict' showed me the pic of the big red :clap: absolute stonker 8-) make sure you post it later man up for all to see :drinking1:

cant wait til the next trip out wide.. :drinking1:

top report reaper 8-) 8-)

got bigger balls then me jumping in at batemens man :shock: :shock:

love that red by the way :bow:

hey CB i hope you enjoyed UNI :fu: :fu:

:drinking1: harmsey
Ray Broughton

Post by Ray Broughton »

Great report and pics reaper, awesome stuff.
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day drinking beer.........
doggies66

Post by doggies66 »

Nice report reaper,,

Cape Ford love it, can't wait till I get down there again, now that they have done up Channel point that might be sooner rather than later.... :clap:

red hot SR...sounds as though you blokes would have been knackered by the end of the trip.

3X 6kg powetails!!!! man that would have been hard work.

Re: Blaze To Ford

Sea Reaper wrote: the goldies were feral at Cape Ford and triple and double headers
geez life's tough eh! :rofl:

love ya work with the pole spear, seams there's purists in all forms of sport. give me a triple rubber underwater cannons anytime.

great post man! :bow: :bow:
Last edited by BarraBeast on Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
rossco

Post by rossco »

Just got to add that I have had a few beers with some lads from Wadeye this evening and they have been seeing heaps of humpbacks out wide whilst fishing as well. They reported the same as reaper - where are all the jewies at the moment?
Night Stalker

Post by Night Stalker »

Great report like always SR. :clap: :applause: :clap:
I contend that where you fish is the
most important factor in catching fish.

Looks like so great fishing down that way. Fantastic Red that one. :cheers: Good to see you found the big ones up that way Reaper. Still got a stash of them down here for you. You know where they are. :wink: :wink:

Nice one Tommo, absolutely sprayed it mate :mrgreen: , unlucky to have missed out on that trip. I swing off in 2 weeks guess your swinging on so i'll see you when im looking at ya bro...theorectically the weather should ease right off for the next month :grin: , so how wide will you be willing to go next time :naughty: .
Sea Reaper

Post by Sea Reaper »

Cheers Fellas, was a bl..dy good trip and am just happy to be able to get time to do the lengthy ones.

I didnt get in Harmsey as was too tired and on shark watch but the BWA didnt think twice.

Yea Ray the triple powertail hook up was a laugh they were all goin different directions to start with then they worked out if they ran together it was in their favour. Definetly broke his spirit for a while as the rod went down and a handline was picked up.

Had a big cannon BB but tip wasnt on properly and was lost during a failed attempt on a tusk, luckily had an exmouth gidgy in the gun bag.......they suprisingly work all right if you dont set your hopes to high.

Yea dodgy there are few about but nothing compared to that great ground over there. unfortunately we are now working out of broome at scotts reef so the next chance i'll get to fish there will be in Jan when i'm bringing our new boat up from tassie.

Off in a week seeker so will prob see ya on the rebound buddy, There isnt such a thing as too wide the only thing that holds me back is the scary price at the bowser.
Reaper
Sea Reaper

Post by Sea Reaper »

Some more pics........
Reaper
jordan doevy

Post by jordan doevy »

good work reaper - that red is a bl..dy horse :o :o 8-) 8-)
schools what i do in between fishing ;)
slapper1

Post by slapper1 »

that fish you dont know what it is ..... its a Netted Mowong taste like cr.p actualy cr.p tasted better