Bynoe Crabs

Catch and cook a seafood buffet, with or without barramundi.
jason

Bynoe Crabs

Post by jason »

Is anyone chasin crabs over the Easter break ?.
Took the daughter out and dropped pots in on Saturday arvo for a pickup Sunday morn in Bynoe. Got 4 crabs three were choca's and the other not bad.

Jason

A_Nomad

Post by A_Nomad »

Yep, headed out to Shoal bay on Fri, got rellies up, so thought i would try for a few, Was out on the water at 6:30 am and back in by 9am, water was dead flat for the ride out and back, picked up 5 big bucks with 3 being full and the other 2 not bad.
All in all not to bad for 3 hours work.
Brad
><((((NAUGHTY ·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY ...NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY¸.
¸¸ .··.¸¸NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY ·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY .¸NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY¸.·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY

put the pots in overnight thursday night for 6 crabs...

jacob

Post by jacob »

yeh i was out there sat nite, sun morning
didnt get waht i expected tho, a few crabs but overall cant complain
best barra catcher in the world
jason

Post by jason »

with these Easterly's honkin might be on the cards for another crab expedition I think.
madkeen

Post by madkeen »

We crabbed shoal bay on friday, launched at 0530 from shoal bay boat hire and got 9 bucks 2 went back but the rest were full as a bull we were back at the boat ramp at 1000 good thing too cause otherwise we were spending the day there. I usually go fom buff creek but thought id give shoal bay boat hire a run, not bad but on the way back hit a mud bank at about half speed :banghead: need to work out the channel oh well no damage and good morning apart from that.

Part 2

Went to bynoe on Sunday and chucked in 4 pots just for some chilli crab and got nothing except a stone fish and a couple of hermit crabs. To top it off after circum navigating indian island in pretty rough conditions got not one fish which is what i was there for. Missus got a few though :banghead:
Bad days fishing is better than a good day at work!!!!
jason

Post by jason »

Madkeen
Hows the road to S B boat hire. I've been down there twice and it was shocken. Might venture down that way??

jason,

i went out there monday arvo on my way back from jabiru and the road was the best i have ever seen it.

had the subaru flying and reckon I done the turnoff at howard springs to the boat ramp in less that 10mins.

no bogs or washouts anywhere.

jason

Post by jason »

Cheers KK
Heading out there late this arvo for a few hours for fish and drop in some pots.
unseen1

Post by unseen1 »

myself azztex and a few others, did a trip in leaders and adelaide mouth ..

ended up with 12 crabs on monday .. put in and checked when we came back ..
they were all full.
madkeen

Post by madkeen »

Hi Jason sorry for the late reply, the road was a little rough but the grader was on it so should be good now. We only got bucks and they were all big and all but one was full we threw him back.

I used to check if they were full by pressing the shell just behind the eyes and it works for females but not the males so im told. To check them i was told to press on the body underneath second leg down if you can press it in they are empty and it seemed to work no empty ones at all when i ate them.Not sure about the one i threw back but i will be using that technique from now on its the goods. :clap: :clap:
Bad days fishing is better than a good day at work!!!!

how did you go jason??

jason

Post by jason »

KK

4 bucks.
Waited for the tide till about 19:30 to get more than 200m from ramp. Threw a fizzer around with no joy. Fair dinkum some of the boofs on dark were like gunshots. Crabs are cooked, cleaned and in the fridge for lunch.

jason