Batemans and Sail City

feeds

Batemans and Sail City

Post by feeds »

Thought it about time I put up a bit of a trip report seen as though I have received quite a bit of advice from the forum.

Mid-morning Friday I left Darwin for Channel Point with the boat in tow. Met up with a mate from Katherine in Batchelor after a couple hour wait.
He got held up with a caravan roll-over near Adelaide River.
The dirt road in was great, few corrugations but taking it steady enough I have no worries taking the fibreglass boat in there.
dirt.jpg
Got into the reserve just before sunset, setup camp and got the boat ready for the morning.

Launched at gentlemen's hours and head straight for Batemans Shoal. Have heard great things about this place, mostly from Agent 86's reports.
The day started off slow, drifting/jigging gulps along the bottom. After a couple hours of not catching much at all we started sending down some squid and the action changed instantly.
It was one after the other for tricky snapper with the occasional tusk fish and a lone trevally. It was great fighting on the light gear and you couldn't do a wrong drift on the whole shoal.
tricky.jpg
tusk.jpg
trev.jpg
Once the sun started getting down we headed back into Jew Ledge to try our luck.
Only 20mins later...
jew.jpg
That was it for day one
Day 2 we decided to head up to Sail City for a look.
Didn't seem like much was going on. Few birds about and a handful of tuna. Got a couple then decided to head back down to Batemans.
Halfway there we came across big schools of tuna and got stuck into them for the next hour or so.
tuna.jpg
Once we had had enough we continued our way to Batemans. Was much the same as the day before with endless tricky snapper.
A nice coral trout.
trout.jpg
And a couple of these whatever they are...
Hmm.jpg
After the night before we could't resist trying Jew Ledge again but just got a few little sharks this time.
Headed back to the ramp and loaded up.
Got up the next morning to perfect conditions. Except our permit was up and we had to pack up and get out of there.
Overall was a great trip and will definitely go back.

Feeds

bigcroc

Re: Batemans and Sail City

Post by bigcroc »

Nice feed there feeds and nice weather to .

Well done!

Gotta love that joint,

Thanks for sharing

Top post Feeds, :mrgreen: ...
I've done a few trips with 86 and the place always gives you something.
Bet your planning the next trip already :catch:

Great report mate, well done.

Ripper fishing trip mate. That water looks the goods
justin

Post by justin »

looks like a good time by all and you beat the windy weather about to turn up.
Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest

great trip. waiting for a lull in the wind so i can head out