Launching options @ Dundee

Jackh

Launching options @ Dundee

Post by Jackh »

G'day FFFolks, heading to Dundee on sSaturday for an over nighter try and get onto a couple of fish.. Looking at camping at the lodge or somewhere where your allowed to camp. Just wondering is there somewhere where you can launch and retrieve at anytime? I don't want to have to pull the boat out at 6 at the tractor cut off. I have a 5mtr nomad fisher stacer. So I don't want to risk the Finniss launch with a stock 100 series cruiser. Cheerz

Basstad

Re: Launching options @ Dundee

Post by Basstad »

Finniss launch is fairly easy mate......air down the tyres if you are worried at all.

also means coming home in the arvo won't be painfull and you could camp down there aswell.
drifter

Post by drifter »

Jackh wrote:G'day FFFolks, heading to Dundee on sSaturday for an over nighter try and get onto a couple of fish.. Looking at camping at the lodge or somewhere where your allowed to camp. Just wondering is there somewhere where you can launch and retrieve at anytime? I don't want to have to pull the boat out at 6 at the tractor cut off. I have a 5mtr nomad fisher stacer. So I don't want to risk the Finniss launch with a stock 100 series cruiser. Cheerz
I suspect you will have probs launching from Dundee as well. Why not ask HOTTUNA or Backcast. They are out their every day. I'm sure ONE of them would offer some good advice
(Sorry Uniball :lol: )
uniball

Post by uniball »

:)
drifter

Post by drifter »

uniball wrote::)
and there is your clue :wink:
uniball

Post by uniball »

Geez your a cryptic fella Drifter. I don't even know what your on about! I thought both of them would be worthy advice givers. I was just smiling in general. I'm simple like that

Sleep in the boat! More fishing time, Jews at night in the Finniss.
Jackh

Post by Jackh »

Yea I would love to sleep in the boat. We haven't got a mozzie net or anything yet? Where can you pick them up from? Camping down the Finniss would be fun. And I'm sure there would be people around if Igot sstuck
uniball

Post by uniball »

Just grab a thermocell or two if you plan on sleeping in the river. Mozzies won't bother you then. Or go offshore to bowra or blaze for the night and run back into the finniss if your chasing barra. Good tides for reefies on Sat night
Anglers Choice

Post by Anglers Choice »

scottmac wrote:Sleep in the boat! More fishing time, Jews at night in the Finniss.
I agree. OK if you have an old 4x4 and small tinnie but I dont even like launching the the 4.55m Polycraft Hire Boats at the mouth. There are no other options sadly ... Sleep in the boat.. it will be beaut when this wind drops off..

Speaking of which - cancelled charters today.. dont do that very often ..

Thanks for the heads up on conditions again AC, always appreiciated even if it is bad news!

We slept in the boat up the finniss a few weeks ago. Didn't use my mossie net, just two thermocells. All good. Maybe the alcohol scared them away! :-)

go to NT general store & get a big mozzie net & tie it up inside your canopy,too easy & cheap.
Anglers Choice

Post by Anglers Choice »

max wrote:go to NT general store & get a big mozzie net & tie it up inside your canopy,too easy & cheap.
and very romantic :D
Jackh

Post by Jackh »

Lol Ac. Might get myself a bottle of Darwins finest Chardonnay and settle in for the night. Haha