GPS Advice

Laursy

GPS Advice

Post by Laursy »

Hi everyone
I am quite new to fishing and have just got a new boat with a Lowrance sounder.
However, it doesn't have a GPS.
So I am just chasing some advice on which brand of GPS to buy or avoid.
What features do you think are essential
I have heard that it is better to just get a combo and get rid of my sounder. is this true, what are the cons of having individual units
I guess i would mostly be using the gps to store points and also to track and follow paths to avoid rocks etc
Any advice you have would be much appreciated as I really dont have much idea.
Cheers

Shane Doevy
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: GPS Advice

Post by Shane Doevy »

Laursy
advantages of having two units is that one can fail and you may not have a crappy day - get a combo unit, it fails and you loose both sounder and GPS - other advantage is that you can watch both at the same, granted you can do that on a combo too. garmin are world leaders in GPS - thats where I would have a look but these days most are on par with each other. Once you buy the unit you will need a card to show you the rocks etc - navionics are the best - not cheap but - another option is to get a hand held an mount it on a RAM mount in your boat - that way you can use it outside the boat as well.
Ask the sales reps in the stores up here and they can point you in the right direction - once you have it you may also consider the gps card with the FF book marks in it as starting points - then get out therer and have a go.

Good luck

Shane
Work is what i do to pay for fishing!!
nomad
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by nomad »

gday and welcome
the best advice i can give is to buy the best you can afford at the time.
I had small garmin unit in the past and now have a hds7 lowrance . they all have just about the same bells and whistles for the same $
holden v ford really