RE: Channel Point

Gold Can

RE: Channel Point

Post by Gold Can »

Has Channel point opened up yet? If not has anyone got any details on when it will open up.

The way to a fishermans heart is through his fly!!

Goldy,
mate spoke with P & W this week - apparently its not open yet and no woird as to when it will be.

Channel Point

The minister said it would open two years ago and I believe it's no closer today despite a lot of work on the road etc. Apparently the boat ramp is the issue - they don't know where to put it. There is no real launch site, and they don't want cars being bogged all the time.

Still at least Labor had the guts to get access in there, the CLP wouldn't touch it.
Gold Can

Post by Gold Can »

Typical politicians, all promises and no cigar

If you feel like a mission, launch from Dundee(weather permitting). hug the coast then head wide of north Peron. the reef off north Peron goes so far north that it helps justify the drive from Dundee.

you could look for tuna along the way and troll/bottom bounce point blaze.

ps I'm a loon in my 4.5 so maybe you shouldn't listen to me. :bonk:
chanos

Blaze

Post by chanos »

There are some brilliant creeks along that stretch of coast, not fished too hard either as 90% of people are out wide doing other stuff. In days gone by we would drive into channel point and camp on the beach, just had to work out the tides for morning and night so you get your boat in close to camp. Beautiful place I reckon. Bateman shoal was the go back then, don't know what its like now, been a few years.

chanos
Fishing is not a matter of life and death, it is far more serious than that.
Gold Can

Post by Gold Can »

I use to do the trip down from Dundee in 4.8m runabout, stopping off at a few spots I have got on the way, Camp in the boat on the jew hole and then first thing next morning head straight out to Bateman Shoal till about lunch time or so and then start heading back to Dundee fishing along the way.
But why I was asking is that I would like to launch there and then hit Cape Ford to have a look.
BarraBase

Post by BarraBase »

barry easy is out there building a boat ramp now its the hold up.. :clap:
Views expressed on this website are those of individuals and do not reflect the opinions of the website owner, or its operators, or other website users
chanos

Barry Easy?

Post by chanos »

Is that Barry from the "betta pave" road group that was/is out there at east arm?

chanos.
Fishing is not a matter of life and death, it is far more serious than that.
rhughsy

Getting to Peron islands

Post by rhughsy »

G'day all,
Im heading up to Bynoe Harbour in november and keen to get out and fish the peron islands. Any advice would be appreciated on the best launch sites..... Is the Dundee boat ramp the better option to access the islands, im told its approx 50 km from there ???

Ross