Glow in the dark lures

Hey Blinky,

I'll sell them to you in 25 years, when they'll be really rare...
:wink:

Pecheur wrote:Hey Blinky,

I'll sell them to you in 25 years, when they'll be really rare...
:wink:

:lol: :lol:

dogtooth

Lumo Lures

Post by dogtooth »

From my limited experience, lumo jigs attracts mostly big-eye jacks. These critters are suckers for lights. You can even tie light sticks above your jig and these buggers will hit your jig after jigs. To them, the brighter, the better.

For other fishes, I try not to use full lumo ones as someone has pointed out, that's not natural. It actually spooks the fish.

As a matter of interest, I found strips of fresh squids actually glows in the night. Perhaps that's the reason why lumo lures come into the picture in the first place.

Cheers.
Doggie
Balls

Post by Balls »

G'day all

On some of the surface lures I make I use luminous eyes, I have had a lot of Barra just smash the lure while its sitting there. Another good thing is depending where you are fishing you get an idea where your lure is in relation to the bank/structure etc as you can see the eyes, its also a good range finder for casting in the dark, you can pick up luminous adhesive tape at most sign writing supply shops, off memory its about $33.00 a metre & its about 900 mm wide. I just use a Wad punch to punch out whatever size eyes I require for different lures, there are some cheap sets of Wad punches at Lets go Overflow at Palmerston for about $6 for 5 or 6 punches which would suit most Barra lures.Same applies for Mackeral lures I purchase the holographic tape at the same place, the majority of the strikes are straight through the eyes, good position for hook arrangement. I bought a heap of luminous paints in Bali but unfortunately they were confiscated, originally they never used to gives a rats, cheers Balls.
SCURVY DOG

Hi all,

Thanks for the replies.

Balls,
Do you sell the lures that you are making, or is it just for yourself?

Balls

Post by Balls »

G'day Pecheur
SCURVY DOG
Balls

Post by Balls »

G'day Pecheur

I don't think the site is to be used for promoting or selling product, happy to show any one how to go about making them, cheers Balls.
SCURVY DOG

Hi Balls,

Sorry it was not my intention to make something that is not allowed on the site, please accept my apologies, I won't do it again.

Balls

Post by Balls »

G'day Pecheur

Its more from my side, I was just clearing it up I wasn't on here trying to hock stuff on Matt's site, I wasn't trying to make you feel like you done anything wrong, no apology required, cheers Balls.
SCURVY DOG

No worries Balls,

Have a good day, and some good fishing.

Pecheur.
Daisy

Post by Daisy »

G'day Pecheur,
Firstly I would like to point out that the following is inspired by Dicks success up at Kunnas and the paint design is a direct copy(cheers mate), I bought some lumo paint and went to work on some of my redundant lures, they come up alright and have caught a few fish on them all, the fear stripes are added (as per Dicks instruction) to break up the colour and create contrast. also found some lumo Wildeye swimbaits (prerigged softies) and have got a couple of bazzas on them. The poppers are fashioned from wine corks and weighted with small sinkers to get them to sit down a bit and bloop, and old wooden file handles lightly weighted at the rear. Hole is drilled thru the middle and you simply feed your leader through and tie on a splittie and treble on the end.
In the salt here we get a lot of phosphorescence which lights up when it's disturbed, I have seen predatory fish (mainly Salmon, Barra and sharks) use this to great effect tracking down the glowing bait/lure, but some nights it's not present and thats when I crack out these helping the fish track down my offerings. As Dick points out have faith with the moonlight and starlight giving the lure enough glow, when I've charged them up with the torch or camera flash all I've got is powertails and Sharks.
Good luck, Daisy
Happiness is having fishy fingers with a stiff rod in your hand!!!
The view expressed in this post is that of a self opinionated bullshitter and does not reflect that of the website owner, it's operators or anyone else for that matter.
drifter

Post by drifter »

Geez Daisy, you are a better fisherman than you are an artist. Although they may work, those are some of the ugliest lures I've seen. Obviously only a Mother (or Barra) could love em :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hey Daisy!

Thank you for your post, that is very informative, and I might try to find some of this paint. (Bunnings may be?)

For me modifying a lure sound nearly as good as actually getting a fish...

Nices photos, now I know how I should paint them.
Thanks.

Pecheur.
Daisy

Post by Daisy »

Yup, urrglee but effective.
I got my tin of lumo from Bunnings, it was expensive (about $40 for 200ml) but it goes a long way, It's fairly thin so you need to apply quite a few coats, like about 4 or 5, I then mark them with permanent texta then finish them off with a couple of coats of clear squirts.
Happiness is having fishy fingers with a stiff rod in your hand!!!
The view expressed in this post is that of a self opinionated bullshitter and does not reflect that of the website owner, it's operators or anyone else for that matter.

Hey Daisy,

Thanks for all the info.
Much appreciated.

That sound like a nice project for these weekend where I am not supposed to go fishing... :roll:

Pecheur.