a few crabs

Catch and cook a seafood buffet, with or without barramundi.
jonr

Re: a few crabs

Post by jonr »

I think it is ridiculous for a rec to take that much... but to put it in perspective - last year I taught to son of a pro crabber and he said they basically work one area of a large mud flats and and in a normal day would get 200-300 crabs... every day ... day after day...

jon

alfie

Post by alfie »

That's alot of F@#*ing crabs. Why would you need so much?????
hope for their sakes that there was at least 17 of them in 6 vessels.......

As for the pro's, don't like the idea but they are allowed/ licensed to...
Used to help out at a mates dads block in the school holidays about 18 year back...
I can tell you, rarely saw 165 keepers a day and we would have had more than 60 pots...

Maybe we just weren't as good as some..............
Good judgement is learnt through experience.
Experience is learnt through bad judgement.

2rods wrote:I can bet you both nuts that Backcast was not there ....

I sent him the pic he put on Facebook !
i was having fun with that one 2Rods...

you are no fun mate....lol
Dutto

Post by Dutto »

that reminds me..... the glenti is not far away. maybee kon will give them a stall saves them handing out flyers.

Dutto wrote:that reminds me..... the glenti is not far away. maybee kon will give them a stall saves them handing out flyers.
Now that as they say is Gold. Plus I reckon the apple will fall very close to that tree.

It is up to the Govt. to reduce the limit, SIMPLE AS THAT. We can all winge and complain as much as we want but I am shaw that if you are prepared to put it on facebook with your picture and rego you have nothing to hide. STOP THE TALK AND MAKE THE DECISON ON A NEW BAG LIMIT (GOVERNMENT). Anyone can see it is to many crabs so to stop it continuing DO SOMETHING. l am from Victoria and been hear 24years LOOK WHAT HAPPENED TO THE ABALONE. Be PROACTIVE and do it NOW before we say what we should have done. How many times do we have to see examples before we act??????
We have made alot of progress in recent years on barra and hopefully will continue to improve/protect that resource, now it is time to ACT on crabs as 90% plus of fishers applauded the Jewfish and Mackerel decision.

We are privledged to live and fish in such a healthy, fish rich area BUT WE MUST PROTECT AND PRESERVE as well as harvest and eat and enjoy it. We must see it as a VALUABLE RESOURCE that needs protecting NOT exploited for the sake of profits for the short term BUT a RESOURCE that will bring millions and in the future BILLIONS of dollars into the economy. We ALL want our kids' kids to be able to enjoy BETTER fish stocks than we do now so as we can still catch/net them in our wheelchairs as our sons/daughter take us out on THEIR adventures.

Its the white wine for me. Talk alot of poop at times but passionate about protecting/preserving our backyard.

the bag limit for amatuers does not need to be reduced on crabs thats fo sure !!!!!!

Some really good point there about numbers.

If the pros are taking that many daily, then there needs to be some research done and fast to see if it's ok.

I remember seeing old timers who used to take hundreds of Murray cod in a weekend. Now look at the numbers.

People used to hunt whales in Oz when it was legal - so everyone thought it was ok at the time. :banghead:

Let's not wait until they are critically endangered. (remember weve wiped out more species in 200 years here than the eurpoeans ever did)

the following is a conversation in the not so distant future

Grandson “grandpa, what’s a mud crab?”
Grandpa “Well young fella, they used to grow up here but not anymore because we fished them out. I can show you a photo of when people used to catch over a hundred in one day”
Grandson “why would someone take so many grandpa?”
Grandpa “pure greed son, pure greed” :fubird:
Chronic

Post by Chronic »

Exactly nomad, much the same as shady camp barra restrictions,
the pro's still take tons from out the front every day but we are stopped at 3 :bonk: :bonk:
Go the live-baiters!

Beer will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no beer...

Well said Nomad

SUSIE Q wrote:Its the white wine for me. Talk alot of poop at times but passionate about protecting/preserving our backyard.
So there you go Paul . White wine will do the trick too!!

DOUG wrote:the bag limit for amatuers does not need to be reduced on crabs thats fo sure !!!!!!
Isnt it 30 per boat for three and more on board, That is pretty generous really, and takes a lot of effort to process unless your freezing green crab which is a bit of a waste in my very limited trial experience. That many crabs (30, not this many) would take almost a day to cook and peel for sure, wouldnt they if you were getting all the met out!!

AM wrote:
DOUG wrote:the bag limit for amatuers does not need to be reduced on crabs thats fo sure !!!!!!
Isnt it 30 per boat for three and more on board, That is pretty generous really, and takes a lot of effort to process unless your freezing green crab which is a bit of a waste in my very limited trial experience. That many crabs (30, not this many) would take almost a day to cook and peel for sure, wouldnt they if you were getting all the met out!!
Your point being??

we had 2 nice bucks between 3 of us last night, chilli crab with a bit of rice, n that was heaps.

whatever is said, that is a lot of crabs!!!

I think we will find out a little more though from what has been said