Improving Diesel Performance

Ray Broughton
Seadog
Seadog

Improving Diesel Performance

Post by Ray Broughton »

All this 4x4 talk has got me thinking about tricking my hilux up a bit... As It's definitely lost a bit of zip over the years and on long hot runs around the top end she won't get over 130 km/h these days...and chews juice... In cooler conditons it definitely goes better but we don't seem to get many of them up here!

Anyone got experience with the Safari Dtronic in relation to an 02 Turbo 1KZ engine... Are they worthwhile? easy to fit? Exxxy? I think they're around $1500?

Or an intercooler? Read mixed things on adding these to a 1KZ and probably prefer not to muck around putting one in but the benefit may warrant....

Also need to fit a snorkel whic Ive been putting off for three years, anyone recommend a brand/fitter, not too keen on cutting holes in my car without the proper tools and experience with em.. (which I have none of!)

Or has anyone got any other solutions to restore her to her former glory (without rebuilding the engine!)

Any comments appreciated
:mrgreen:

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day drinking beer.........
Chronic
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Chronic »

Give SMITHY a call at ARB mate he'll tell you anything you need to know :mrgreen:

And they do a great job on snorkels :grin:

:cheers:
Go the live-baiters!

Beer will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no beer...
Ernie
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Ernie »

Howdy Ray one of my mates has a Fitch Fuel Catalist on his work low lux
and he reccons he gets about 80 kl's extra from a tank and it runs smoother and has more power 8-) 8-) .He's also just put one on his Prado as has my brother in law with his 100 Series.
www.fitchcatalyst.com.au
Might be an option :drinking8:
Live it and ENJOY
Cant save the world from idiots as they'll just build a better one!