Disco's Fishing Adventures

Re: Disco's Fishing Adventures

Congratulations buddy. Ripper trip and story

Great report, great fish :mrgreen:

Finally 8) :applause: Onya Disco :catch:
disco

Post by disco »

Thanks all!

NBN, yes that picture is going to be with me for a long time... actually hopefully only a few weekends, until I get a bigger one!

jeffish - "finally" seems like a good way to put it! But then again, owned a boat for 1.5 years and been in darwin for 4, I am sure people have taken a lot longer to join the club.
www.tidesandtrails.com
My camping and fishing stories, including some cool locations
Instagram: tidesandtrails

I know mate I'm one of them , :( :cry:
disco

Post by disco »

Land based hopping
December 6
Well I haven't been out on my boat in a while and Mud and I were planning on having a shot. However a few terrible storms on the Saturday made me rethink the idea of getting out on my boat. A mistake based on the weather and the fishing reports but oh well.

We decided to jump in the car and bit some billabongs and culverts. We hit a billabong early in the morning and there was definitely fish there, you can see them from time to time as the water was pretty shallow. But they wouldn't take anything. Which is rude as it was a 4.30am wake up to ensure we were there at dawn!

So we headed onto shady camp barrage for a flick - zero water on the salty side for as far as the eye can see. Had a go and fresh, but nothing on.

Decided to head to another culvert that was a long way away. When we go there we were surprised by the amount of water. Only had about 40 minutes there as we had to head back home. Mud got two big hits but no hook up. I caught the world's smallest barra.

Got:
Me: Tiny Barra

Snap
www.tidesandtrails.com

From hero to zero; mate don't let that be the last Barra you land before you become a Corona drinker
disco

Post by disco »

haha yeah i didnt think of it that way

still got a bit of time yet...
www.tidesandtrails.com

Big enough for a sandwich 8)
disco

Post by disco »

All quiet on the western front
December 12
"Beware the westerly" Stewie from work says. He believes as soon as it starts blowing, the barra shut down.

But it had been a month since I had taken my boat out, with the rain and holidays coming up I needed to take the chance. Just out for a quick 5 hours in the harbour.

When we first got there, there was action. A few splashes, and heaps of baitfish. Not only that, but far out, so many boats in my choice creek, a lot wearing the competition outfits.

So I thought we might be in with a chance. Marko and I both got a total of one hit each. Each person I spoke to said they had nothing. And so we headed home, without anything.

Got:
Me: 1kg of magpie goose breast, thanks Mark!
Mark: nothing

Snap
Took this to help my sell my boat:
www.tidesandtrails.com
cards

Post by cards »

Enjoy reading about your adventures disco, awesome!
Dear Optimist, Pessimist and Realist, while you guys were busy arguing about the glass of water - I drank it!

Yours sincerely, The Opportunist!

Nice boat, sure it will sell fast :)
DEEPRIVER

Post by DEEPRIVER »

Good on you Disco , a great story and great fish and well deserved :mrgreen:

Shame your leaving Darwin I've enjoyed reading your fishing reports very much.

Barney.
disco

Post by disco »

Fishkill
January 9
Made a plan to hit the high at the barrages at Shady Camp. Mud had warned against it, said there was too much fishkill around. I didn't have any better plans, or anything that open to my timeframe. Besides, how bad could it be? Also, I really didn't know what fishkill was.

So off Bruce and I went, on the water at first light. Definitely should have listen to Mud, he has good ideas every now and again.

Fishkill was everywhere, and it really stunk. Without the petrol (or time really) to make to the mouth, we gave it out best shot, but there was zero life around.

We pulled the boat out early. Lesson learnt: give it at least a month after those first rains flush the system out.

When I got back into range I got a text on my phone, 24 hours later it appears the boat is sold.

Got:
Me: nothing
Brucesta: nothing

Snap
www.tidesandtrails.com