Lessons learned the hard way

Tell us about your own or others' fishing, boating, 4X4 or camping trip gone wrong. With pictures.

Re: Lessons learned the hard way

If your boats really hard to get off the trailer & theres a wall of water behind when you get planing youve left the light board on.Done exactly the same as Grumpy at Adelaide ramp only mines f/glass :bonk:

smed

Post by smed »

Plastic rod holders will break before 60lb braid wrapped in the prop.
Launching after a night of tequila will upset routines......tie downs etc.
Asking wife to jump onto pontoon after beers does not mean she will remain dry..........or happy.

Ummmmm, that thing about the bungs.........................

you win greg
deano

Post by deano »

Phark where to start.....
Well they aren't all my fault but I was there....
Check your bearings
Take spare bearings
Wheels on there own can travel faster than the vehicle
Dont drive on mudflats no matter how dry and crusty they look
Dont rely on a winch to get you to and/or from your destination
Winches only fail when you need them
Make sure trailer hitch is on properly......and safety chain
Low tide at finniss mouth is no place to clean your catch... From your car
Only snatch vehicles in a straight line..... Unless you like your car on its side
Check your bearings
Take spare bearings
When camping on the boat in a river make sure the tidal movement does not exceed the depth you are camping in
Anchors D shackles you know the story
No naked flames while filling via jerry can
Rods out of holders while putting boat back in the shed
Rods out of holders when driving. Down narrow bushy drive ways to prevent spooling
Tie your boat down
Wear the kill switch lanyard incase driver falls out
Drive cautiously through the cutting
If you must take someone with little to no casting ability make sure someone on board is competent in hook removal ( from humans)

C could go on but my fingers are tired
P.s. I have never forgotten the bungs....... Or the beers

Mate gives me a call.......just had the boat serviced, come for a quick run to check it out. Puts in at Dinah and heads across towards East Arm. Half way across and the motor coughs and stops dead.........mates on the phone to the dealer abusing the cr.p out of him for not doing the service properly and demands he come out and tow us back. Old mate from the dealer arrives, hopes in our boat, pushes this, shoves that, looks here, looks there, disconnects fuel line, squirts a little fuel out the back, turns to mate and says "who put diesel in the tank?"...............

Never, ever tow your boat to Victoria without having a boat licence, rego, bailer, torch etc etc it will cost you around 700 bucks in fines.............all of my excuses fell on deaf ears........

Blinky wrote:Mate gives me a call.......just had the boat serviced, come for a quick run to check it out. Puts in at Dinah and heads across towards East Arm. Half way across and the motor coughs and stops dead.........mates on the phone to the dealer abusing the cr.p out of him for not doing the service properly and demands he come out and tow us back. Old mate from the dealer arrives, hopes in our boat, pushes this, shoves that, looks here, looks there, disconnects fuel line, squirts a little fuel out the back, turns to mate and says "who put diesel in the tank?"...............

Never, ever tow your boat to Victoria without having a boat licence, rego, bailer, torch etc etc it will cost you around 700 bucks in fines.............all of my excuses fell on deaf ears........

you got done even with ya nt drivers licence for the rego and boat licence ?????

I got let of by fisheries thanks to my trusty old NT licecnce few chrisys ago for no vic fish licence :D

A well known Darwin bill fisherman in broome one year half filled his fuel tank at the servo turns out it was the rod holder he was filling :)
Worst thing I have done is gave away 40l of petrol to two different mates and then they headed off I ran out 10km short of the Adelaide ramp :) luckily had 1 bar of service to text me mate and said I need that fuel back ! :)

DOUG wrote:A well known Darwin bill fisherman in broome one year half filled his fuel tank at the servo turns out it was the rod holder he was filling :)
Worst thing I have done is gave away 40l of petrol to two different mates and then they headed off I ran out 10km short of the Adelaide ramp :) luckily had 1 bar of service to text me mate and said I need that fuel back ! :)
bl..dy Indian giver!!

Years ago I knew a bloke who bought a new boat over in Northern WA. Anchored up the boat in the water as they camped and drank on the beach. Woke up in the morning to find no boat. Turns out they didnt think about the 10m of run in tide and the anchor pulled the boat under

:rofl: good one DOUG

Yep, filling the rod holder with fuel has been done by a mate!

The foam under floor doesn't mix too well with petrol, and can ruin a good days fishing!!!
took him a while to clean it out! :bonk:

Make sure you have a good grip of your rod when u pull it out of the rod holder whole trolling, just in case of hookup!! :banghead:

On the ramp at Trinity when a big flash multi roller trailer backs in, olmate on the 20' Bayliner hits th throttles and on she goes, smashes th post and puts th bowsprit and anchor straight through the rear of th F350 canopy.
Skipper gets flung forward, still holdin the throttles..Never forget th sound of those twins screaming their guts out.
Same clown near swamped us earlier on up th inlet..Karma's a real bitch sometimes.
Naturally we lent them a hand....We waved as we headed off.
Sky was an un-natural shade of blue for a while. Could still hear th F'er owner two blocks away.
Just goes to show..Having a licence isn't a guarantee of intelligence.

Out at Point Stuart again in the late 70’s me a few mates were out pigging at the Swim Creek swamp right up towards Stuarts Tree on the edge of the flood plains. :hunting: :hunting:

We had 3 blokes on the back of the old cruiser and a couple of blokes in the front and we were cruising through some paperbarks when we hit on a mob of pigs. 4 blokes take off after the mob on foot leaving old indigenous mate with the cruiser. Couple of minutes into chase we hear a bl..dy big bang back in the direction of the cruiser and think old mate must have plugged a straggler pig coming out of the bush. :hunting:

With the chase over and 4 hogs accounted for we head back to the cruiser to find no one there old mate vanished. Calls to old mate suddenly gets a response from him from behind a distant termite mound. “What the faaark you doing” we ask. He say “some bastard shot at me when you took off”, “can’t be we say no one is up in this neck of the wood”. “Get back here and stop being stupid”. :wink:

We load back up on the cruiser and the driver says “she won’t go” an inspection under the bonnet quickly reveals the battery has blown up in a million pieces, hence the big bang earlier. :banghead: :banghead:

Well the all day walk back to swim creek crossing were we eventually picked up a lift left everyone with chaff that bad I’m sure our testies were hanging out the side of our worn thru nut sack. Och! :idea: :idea: