Lessons learned the hard way

Tell us about your own or others' fishing, boating, 4X4 or camping trip gone wrong. With pictures.

Re: Lessons learned the hard way

bl..dy safety chains onto the boat from the winch post to the boat are for idiots. (Well I thought)

Got to Adelaide River ramp one trip after putting new rollers on the trailer, disconnected the lights and safety chain start backing down the ramp and I watch in horror in the rear view mirror as the boat unloads it's self off the trailer half way down the ramp a good 3 mtrs from the water :bricks:

ShadyCamp many years ago pull up at a hot spot creek pumping fresh water when old mate chucks the ancor in then proceeds to jump over board. Comes up 20 seconds later and I yell what the faark you doing and he waves the ancor at me. Just then I realise it wasn't tied on. :applause: :applause:

grumpy wrote:
ShadyCamp many years ago pull up at a hot spot creek pumping fresh water when old mate chucks the ancor in then proceeds to jump over board. Comes up 20 seconds later and I yell what the faark you doing and he waves the ancor at me. Just then I realise it wasn't tied on. :applause: :applause:
Buggered if i'd be jumpin in there anywhere now!!! :shock:

suppose 20 years ago those habdbags were still a little bit timid :croc:

gee this is a great read !!

went duck shooting a few years back when i had a ute.......was sitting on the lake when i flock of blackies went past,loaded the gun but didnt get to fire a shot.put my loaded gun on the ute roof and kept plucking the ducks i had allready shot !! drove the 30 km home and remember i had left the gun on my roof car...loaded !!!

spent the early hrs looking for my gun !!! still break into a cold sweat account i found the gun 10 mets from the main road

gee
Kindly not use such language on FFF :mrgreen:

That just gave me n sharkgirl a big chuckle Matt.....
Hally10

Post by Hally10 »

Bit embarrassing after just putting your boat in to have to drag it back up the ramp,a few meters and drain it. Much to the other boaties delight.

Not mine but a mate down south in the 70,s
Dont let your young brother hold the gun while sitting in the backseat by himself on his first rabbit shooting trip.
Middle of winter, driving along a dirt track, at night.
Rabbit hops into the headlights , young brother (a bit excited) takes a shot.
Through the windscreen.
smarty

Post by smarty »

Casting from the front of my mates boat 2 days ago at the Finniss Salt,old mate moves suddenly down the back unbeknownst too me,nek minute i`m in the river swimming..... :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: with the :croc: :croc: :croc:

Had brand new setup in hand and new Go Pro,just wasn`t filming pitty,would`ve made for some interesting footage....
sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Boat ramp down on the Yorke Peninsula. Standing with a mate in the water, holding the boat while another mate parks the car. A guy comes down with his tinny with a shiny new 15hp Merc on the back, parks at the top of the ramp, unties everything except the winch, unties the motor so it's just sitting on the little travel block and proceeds to reverse down the ramp at a reasonable speed (it's a pretty long ramp at low tide).

Just as he's about to hit the water, the trailer hits a pothole on the ramp, the whole boat lifts off the trailer, held on only by the winch cable. As the motor also lifts, the little travel block drops out of the way and the motor drops down all the way. As the boat comes back down onto the trailer, the skeg of the motor then catches on the ramp, and the whole outboard pops off the transom, into the air about 2 feet and lands on its side in about 18" of water. We're standing there just about pissing ourselves with laughter as the guy gets out of his car and walks back to the rear of the boat and stands there, looking dumbfounded at his outboard laying in the sand under the water.

My other mate who had parked the car and seen this happen from the top of the ramp, walked down to him, reached in and grabbed the handle of the outboard and lifted it up out of the water, hooked it crookedly over the transom of the tinny, looked at the owner and shook his head and walked back to our boat. We all climbed in and drove off laughing. Not a word was spoken.
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.

Now that we are going with the ‘not me but a mate’ theme
When we were young blokes, most weekends were a mix of partying and shooting rabbits.

3 blokes in the back of a ute with rifles isn’t a good idea at any time.
One of the boys jumped out while holding the barrel of a 22 and bang. Right thru him.
Surgery required him to be cut from one side of his ribs down his back and back up the other side ribs.
Around a 1.5m cut in all. Only hit a few bits inside him and he was lucky to be alive
Now has the best scar I've ever seen
Swabby081

Post by Swabby081 »

Gday, Im new to the site, and i am enjoying laughing at this thread. Here's my share.

- don't leave rods standing vertical when towing boat to or from destination, Birds are everywhere :birdie: I had 3 rods standing vertical, broke two tips and the third one hooked the bird and spooled me, before I could pullover and do something about it. :bonk:

- drain plugs, check them yourself ! Don't rely on someone else. (went from King Ash bay boat ramp, trolled in parts out to the mouth and headed over to the islands. Anchored up for a few hours, started trolling again only to watch the back of the boat sink, fridge power cord caught fire, luckily beached the boat and discovered both bungs missing and the bilge pump not working. I made a plug from a tube of sunscreen, and got back to the ramp in a hurry.

- take the keys with you x2

- remember to lift the weighted berly pot off the bottom before you take off.

- if you run 3 batteries it pays to isolate 1 whilst doing long distance trips. (80klms out and 3 flat batteries due to a failed alternator. If I had isolated the front deep cycle battery( which I wasn't using that day) I would have made it home 8+ hours earlier.

- Watched a mate throw and lose 2 anchors in a matter of minutes.

- don't set the drag to high whilst using the plastic type bolt-on rod holders (if anyone finds a "Brand New" Shimano Torium 30 and blue water boat rod attached to a nice fish :fishy: , it was probably mine) :banghead:

There have been others but this should do for now.

Gday Swabby welcome aboard and thanks for the stories!
sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Oooh that reminds me........ A few days on the Murray drinking and half hearted yabbying. Tip all the catch into one of those square mesh keeper pots (nah, we didn't get many and thought we'd save them for a feed at the end of the week).

When you anchor up at a nice looking spot (to drink beer), throw the pot full of yabbies (suitably attached to the boat) into the water to keep them alive.

When you leave (and this is the important bit) retreive the said pot full of yabbies BEFORE you take off.

Somewhere near Renmark, there is a giant yabby (having eaten all the other dwellers of the net) roaming around dressed in what appears to be green fishnets........
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.
Topenders

Post by Topenders »

G'Day all,

Or you can always do what a friend did.

He was recently fishing the Finniss(salt) and anchored up for a flick. After that, they decided to troll for about 3 kays with anchor still out.
Motor started to make some strange noises so they stopped and tried to tilt the motor up because they thought they had run over an old crab pot. Motor wouldn't tilt up, so he jumps onto the outboard and feels a rope around the prop and cuts it off, problem solved.

It wasn't till an hour or so later his friend pulls in the rope dangling over the side do they realise what they had done.

Topenders wrote:G'Day all,

Or you can always do what a friend did.

He was recently fishing the Finniss(salt) and anchored up for a flick. After that, they decided to troll for about 3 kays with anchor still out.
Motor started to make some strange noises so they stopped and tried to tilt the motor up because they thought they had run over an old crab pot. Motor wouldn't tilt up, so he jumps onto the outboard and feels a rope around the prop and cuts it off, problem solved.

It wasn't till an hour or so later his friend pulls in the rope dangling over the side do they realise what they had done.

very funny !