406 EPIRB ACTIVATED AT BASS REEF SUNDAY 1300 HOURS

Tell us about your own or others' fishing, boating, 4X4 or camping trip gone wrong. With pictures.

406 EPIRB ACTIVATED AT BASS REEF SUNDAY 1300 HOURS

EPIRB REGISTERED TO CHAD CLANCY HAS BEEN ACIVATED. POLICE SEARCH AND RESCUE ON ROUTE AT 13:30. CHAD CLANCY IS NOT ON THE VESSEL, RICK TRIPPE AND IAN HANNAFORD ARE SPEARFISHING AT BASS REEF WHERE THE EPIRB HAS BEEN ACTIVATED.

ANY FORUM MEMBERS WHO MAY KNOW OF FRIENDS BE IN THE BYNOE AREA WITH TELSTRA MOBILE RECEPTION PLEASE ATTEMPT TO CONTACT THEM TO AID IN THE RESCUE.

NO OTHER DETAILS KNOWN.

Re: 406 EPIRB ACTIVATED AS BASS REEF SUNDAY 1300 HOURS

Just spoke to Chad he is NOT on the boat...
If you have a VHF please turn it on an keep an ear open...
And if you know someone out that way please try them on the phone..

Re: 406 EPIRB ACTIVATED AT BASS REEF SUNDAY 1300 HOURS

UPDATE - POLICE SEARCH AIRCRAFT ON ROUTE. ETA 220PM LOCAL TIME. FYLING DOCTOR AIRCRAFT DIVERTED. COMMERCIAL VESSAL ALSO DIVERTED(ETA 1500).

COAST RADIO DARWIN TRANSMITTING INFORMATION ON THIS SEARCH ON CHANNEL 16.

Re: 406 EPIRB ACTIVATED AS BASS REEF SUNDAY 1300 HOURS

Fishing vessel just picked up the two guys off the boat... BOTH ARE OK.....

Rotten orange (the dive boat) sank.. Not to the bottom but half submerged...

Lucky boys...

Was listening on the radio and they had another mayday call come over the radio from the vernon islands some one with engine troubles and now they cannot pick them up
I also tried ch21 a few times for no response !!
Mr RiverBabe

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Busy weekend for them. Hope everyone is ok.
Night Stalker

Post by Night Stalker »

The vessel in the Vernons has a failed gearbox by the sounds of it. They have a poor VHF signal. Cant copy them at all with vessel Rescue 481 very strong at their location. They are being asked about all there safety gear and water supply for the 6 on board.
I maybe jumping the gun but sounds like it may be an inappropriate use of the call Mayday.

Glad to hear that all are OK in the Bass reef event also.
I contend that where you fish is the
most important factor in catching fish.

anyone know how much a eperp is to buy ?
sheps

Post by sheps »

barra mick wrote:anyone know how much a eperp is to buy ?
i reckon they are cheap insurance

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/EPIRB-GME-MT ... 20b16e3108

$300 or so..... Cheap as chips mate

cheers...yeah very cheap insurance.

Good to hear the blokes got sorted.

Barra Beast, about the activation. I'd be interested to know how long til they contacted you
2rods wrote:$300 or so..... Cheap as chips mate
So true. I know heaps of people who dont have an epirb or a radio on board. their excuse is that they dont go more than 2nm out.
the thing is that they do go way out. I just dont understand it.

Sorry to hear about the boat after all the hard work on the restoration job. Would be devastating, but no one hurt, good news :mrgreen:
wally gator

Post by wally gator »

was that the old f/glass rescue boat the was on fff site that had all that work done to it ????

Yep Wally that's the one