Crimson finches, next monsoon and Dumb Blonde.

Real time reports from FFFers on the things that matter most

Re: Crimson finches, next monsoon and Dumb Blonde.

Matt Flynn wrote:RIP Dumb Blonde .... http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/northern- ... ca893d3d52
Bugger, saw that. Condolances

Goat Island

Post by Goat Island »

Well, have just sent 1++ hour writing a long report about not only what happened on "that" day, but the full story about how it all happened. Phone rang, quick answer, and It had all dissappeared. I F...ing hate computers. even rang Matt, hell of a lot more knowledge than me...... Start again. Sorry, not happening, but feel free to call in for all the "Guff.
Sorry. Kai.'https://fishttps://fishingterritory.com ... 42&t=41079#
tangles

Post by tangles »

Lots of opinionated people telling u about what you should and shouldn't do re dogs .
We have a jack Russel cross which chases the dingoes around our fenced rural block .
I suppose I could permanently chain it up , but where would that fit in with people's idealistic vision on life .
Goat Island

Million dollar Barra..... In the ADELAIDE.

Post by Goat Island »

Well.... First apologies for late notification of this. My old mate Borris, [nickname, and frequent visitor/fisherman up here], was up 3 weeks before start of MDB comp started, fished all day, got 2 keepers, 60 and 65 from memory, and 1 had a red tag. Never having seen one before, he showed me, MAN. they are tiny. Anyway, as comp. had not yet started, had to be last years, both agreed. Left in in the ice in esky overnight, and filleted next morning. then came and showed me the tag that he kept as a reminder of 'almost'. I had a closer look in full light, and it had ''Expiry 2020". I called Ph. no on tag, and yes, was released a few days earlier.... Never mind, who needs 10 grand?, a Mill. would be nice?. ANYWAY, I gave the number on tag, and they promised a new would be released up here to replace. A SAD TALE, BUT TRUE.

Other than that, not much happening as far as Barra goes, or anything else for that matter. So far I've had 90 mm. but stuff all the last couple of weeks. All just small local showers.

Have not seen a single Crimson finch yet. NOT GOOD.

HM King Kai.

Out of season, bugger! I think Flicken got one once too

:banghead: You need a fish pond on the island for moments like that Kai - put the Barra out to pasture for three weeks and then harvest the ten G come the comp date! :mrgreen:

Honesty never earned an honest man a new pair of glasses.

But if it did, you might at least spot some Crimsons and afford some nesting boxes.

Sorry, couldn’t help it! :D
bigwoody

Post by bigwoody »

"Reckon a few early ones end up in the freezer each year"
A bit of research revealed a little know fact about the MDF, the rules require a captured fish to be photographed on a measuring mat or the like, photos from the front (head) of the fish and the side of the fish, the tag has to be provided for electronic scanning.
However the MDF is also a catch and release competition, the fish does not have to be killed and presented as long as all of the above is conducted.
Optimistic Pessimist