Boating conditions for an amateur

Real time reports from FFFers on the things that matter most
Tinny Basher
Silver Member
Silver Member

Boating conditions for an amateur

Post by Tinny Basher »

Hi still new to boating and to FFF. chasing a bit of input into weather conditions and they're effect on the waters around darwin particualry the dundee and the harbour. Been out a few times and sometimes i get it wrong and make for a rough wet trip. I have a 5.2 ally and looking to see what people think would be acceptable winds and swell for it to get around off dundee and darwin

mickkk
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: Boating conditions for an amateur

Post by mickkk »

Wind direction can also play a viral roll in some areas too. Vernons, channel point, even Dundee.
I'll leave it up to others to comment as I'm no expert.
There's different sites too like windy, bom, willy weather. I'm sure others will add to the list too, but it's really worth not relying on just one, as often they can be quite different.
jeffish
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by jeffish »

So many variables to this Question , I would suggest doing a few smaller trips to really get to know your boat and what your comfortable with . Any thing offshore more than 10knts can be nasty if the wind is opposed to the tide , a predicted .5mt swell can soon stand up to meter plus
with white caps and can make for a slow or dangerous trip back home .
A good 5.2 will handle a fair bit , but it all comes down to your abilities . Try planning your trips so your coming home with the wind at your back but with mostly easterlies during the dry that can be a bit hard .

Good luck , just take it slow and learn from the bad trips . :captain:
Matt Flynn
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Post by Matt Flynn »

Up to 10 knots, usually smooth unless forecast is wrong.

10-15 knots is marginal depending on accuracy of forecast, and depending on your boat.

Above 15 knots is only fun for folk with sea legs and decent boats.