* Blogs    * Barrabucks    * The Logo Shop    * Arcade    * Gallery    * Chat    * FAQ    Barramundi Fishing 
  Contact Contact      * Register    * Login  *
   * Register
Barramundi Fishing Pack

Share This Topic On: Share on Facebook FacebookShare on Twitter TwitterShare on Reddit RedditShare on Tumblr TumblrShare on Google+ Google+
 
New Member
New Member

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:01 am
Posts: 1
Barrabucks points on hand:
70.00 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:31 pm    Post subject: whitsundays/airlie beach islands fishing

:fishing:

hey all, this is my first post on here so be kind.

me and a buddy made the big drive up to airlie from port macquarie with our boat, shes a 5 m fibreglass hull with an 80hp motor and a nice little electirc motor on the front.
we fished heaps but never had heaps of luck. we predominantly fish with lures, we had fun sight casting for mackeral, and throwing soft plastics for coral trout etc. We wanted to get into more pelagics and really wanted to find some good ground to throw big poppers for GT. We tried to fish big current lines and drop offs, with no avail.

We are heading back again in october or november, and we would love some more luck. any advice???

thanks fellas

:captain:


Top
  Profile  
 
South Pacific island holidays
 
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:29 pm
Posts: 5909
Location: PALMERSTON
Barrabucks points on hand:
59,105.20 Barrabucks
Post Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:55 am    Post subject: Re: whitsundays/airlie beach islands fishing

I did a trip with Nomad charters and they predominantly targeted big GT’s on that trip.
We were on the ribbon reefs but the technique was to get close to the reef where the current was pushing up against the reef, not past it ( ie 90 degrees onto the reef not parallel current)
Look for fusiliers and other bait fish
The GTs were waiting in ambush about 20m down.
BIG poppers, 100 ld braid and 200lb leader.
Long casts so that you keep your distance from the reef.
Then rip it back making the biggest splash possible.
I took a heap of big poppers (200mm) but they just weren’t big enough to get the 100m casts in.
get poppers at least 350mm long
All were surface hits and just hang on and drive away into deep water to stop them bricking you


Top
  Profile  
 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Barramundi Fishing Board index » FFF North Australian Fishing Forums » Reef and Pelagic Fishing Trip Reports
Top

  # whitsundays/airlie beach islands fishing Previous topic | Next topic # 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
  Print view

Jump to:  

Welcome Anonymous


Login
Username:

Password:

 Remember me


I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE

Advertisement



Darwin Sun & Moon

Darwin Tides


Northern Fishing Posts
The coelacanths

Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:43 pm

Matt Flynn

Kalumburu vid

Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:46 pm

Dick

Darwin harbour fishing spot

Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:38 pm

pelletouse

Fotofish - August 2018 thread

Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:13 pm

Daz12

Shady Camp - Shark Attack 1m+ Barra

Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:37 pm

Sullo

Oysters 'shrinking'

Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:53 pm

Matt Flynn

FFF Seadogs 2018 - Round 6 - Mackerel + Barra

Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:48 am

NinjaFish

Great Barrier Reef $500m bullsh.t spend

Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:44 am

Bushy

Stena Clyde Crisis Support

Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:02 pm

Hemi

ATC Combat Plus 200

Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:53 pm

Saltboy

Floating weed off Darwin - is it seasonal?

Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:57 pm

NinjaFish

Free jumping barramundi

Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:15 pm

theodosius

Pelagic setups

Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:51 pm

deepblack

Shipwrecked in the Kimberley

Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:14 pm

grumpy

Daly River 2018

Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:59 pm

wazdog

Shed cleanup- deep cycle, jerries, straight edge etc

Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:18 pm

theodosius

Hitting a wake at speed

Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:01 am

fridgie

The not so mellow hammerhead

Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:49 am

fridgie

FFF Seadogs 2018 - Round 7 - Billabong, Dam and Salty Barra

Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:47 pm

trent

Wyndham Barge contact details

Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:24 pm

ponyplay


General Fishing Posts
Fitzroy Net Free Zone

Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:02 am

JJLure

Show us your biggest COBIA

Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:44 pm

swilmore

Decent jew

Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:45 am

JJLure

Vanuatu birthday bash

Mon May 28, 2018 1:25 pm

grumpy

Bloodwormers want compo

Tue May 01, 2018 11:07 pm

Dick

Goodbye Coorong

Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:29 pm

Matt Flynn

GoFish Nagambie

Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:25 am

barra mick

Cracker bull shark

Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Sullo

Good Flathead Initiative in NSW

Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:41 am

Dinger

Awoonga dam spills over

Thu Mar 22, 2018 12:48 pm

JJLure

A YEAR ON

Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:11 pm

CJ87

Maggot stew with squid

Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:59 am

Matt Flynn

Hazelwood barramundi stocking timeline

Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:25 pm

Matt Flynn

PB Lizard

Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:09 am

Matt Flynn

Tully Gorge

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:19 am

Jeno

Lake Kununurra set to explode

Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:16 pm

Chriso

Victorian metery

Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:38 pm

Matt Flynn

Show us your biggest MACKEREL

Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:31 pm

solo

John Dunphy Artificial Reef

Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:18 pm

NinjaFish

Algal blooms hit Tassie East Coast

Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:54 pm

Matt Flynn


Recent Non-Fishing Posts
Global warming

Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:27 am

Matt Flynn

Roundup not so harmless

Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:02 pm

Matt Flynn

Seadogs Scoresheet

Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:23 pm

Matt Flynn

China invests billions in PNG

Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:36 pm

Matt Flynn

Plastic bag bulldust

Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:42 am

Matt Flynn

Fires, floods and penguins

Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:34 pm

NinjaFish

Facebook

Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:01 pm

Matt Flynn

You never know what you are snorting

Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:07 am

theodosius

Massive fail in robbery in Canada

Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:00 pm

fridgie

Southern people.....how is this possible????

Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:55 pm

Matt Flynn

America ... F..k Yeh!

Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:27 pm

Matt Flynn

To ponder when fish are quiet

Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:45 am

Matt Flynn

Early NT mangoes

Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:58 pm

Matt Flynn

China joins Collins Class club

Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:22 pm

ronje

Good Aussie economic news

Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:05 pm

AM

bl..dy selfies

Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:39 am

ronje

The dumb country

Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:07 am

Matt Flynn

Trump

Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:44 pm

Matt Flynn

The future

Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:05 am

NinjaFish

Reseal deseal

Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:06 am

Matt Flynn


Poll

Neaps  21%  [7]
Springs  21%  [7]
Building  53%  [17]
Diminishing  3%  [1]
Total Votes: 32

FFF Newsletters
You can view any of our new FFF Newsletters that you may have missed here:
FFF Newsletters Archive
Subscription Management