Trip to Dundee

ccutting93

Trip to Dundee

Post by ccutting93 »

Went to Dundee for the first time over the weekend and had a blast. Landed my first ever Spanish Mack going 106 followed by another at the mark of 92. My deckie soon followed with one more going around the 80 mark. Dropped another two, one of them came straight for our boat and I thought he was lost right up until he came into view just under the surface, a flick of the tail and he was gone leaving the 7m+ red and white laser pro behind him. We ended up with a few very small reefies and one cracking goldie that went 75 and pulled like a freight train. Wahoo new PB. Great couple of days on the water giving the boat a run before heading down to King Ash Bay in November for the family trip. Can't wait to go back, I would welcome any tips and help on getting a few more reefies as we found it hard to find them, wasn't from the lack of trying. Cheers in advance.

Re: Trip to Dundee

Ripper goldie mate

Nice work mate thats a cracker goldie . I'm a bit surprised you didn't get more from were he came from .
You anchored or drifting while looking for reefies ? If a spot ain't working move and you don't always need big structure .

That Wahoo is a cool catch as well. 8)
ccutting93

Post by ccutting93 »

Yeah jeffish we moved a lot didn't do much drift fishing. Anchored mostly. Just sounded up flattish rubbley bottom. Got heaps of pickers just not much size. And yeah the goldie was on its own unfortunately
ccutting93

Post by ccutting93 »

And wahoo is meant to be yahoo sorry only macks and the goldie

Nice trip mate, congrats :mrgreen:

Well done

Great effort mate, well done.

ccutting93 wrote:Yeah jeffish we moved a lot didn't do much drift fishing. Anchored mostly. Just sounded up flattish rubbley bottom. Got heaps of pickers just not much size. And yeah the goldie was on its own unfortunately
I've often caught a single big goldie when the sounder suggests that he is not on his own. I put it down to them not wanting to feed but you have fooled one of them. Usually it will also be a very timid bite

Some nice macks and a great Goldie as well, great stuff, well done
We were out there around about too, need to do a post up

sharkbaithuhaha

Post by sharkbaithuhaha »

Hey guys, heading to Dundee... first time out there... any fishing spots you can share?