FFF Seadogs 2021 - Round 1

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 6:29 pm

Mackerel, jewfish and threadfin have a -20cm handicap throughout the comp.

March is Round 1, with barramundi and threadfin eligible ... post your March entries on this thread.

Good luck all :fishing: :fishing: :fishing:

Re: FFF Seadogs 2021 - Round 1

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:46 pm
by Ivan
Ok, since no one else wants to go first I guess I will have to.
With the SWA road reopened (still pretty rough though) I decided to venture out this week. I managed to troll up this fat 92cm on a blue classic. A bit of a cheesy photo as it kept trying to flick out of my hands. I only had to put her near the water and off she swam in a flash.

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:56 pm
Well done Ivan, fish looks healthy too.

Perhaps should have bonus points for first fish each round! Might do in that in future rounds/years.

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 6:32 pm
Nice fat fish Ivan. My decky got an 88 the other day but necked it before I told him about the mat photo :banghead:

Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:39 pm
Solid fish Ivan ,, great pic to start the comp off :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2021 8:28 pm
by trent
A nice chrome 79cm barra caught on a popper 2nd cast of the morning

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 6:54 am
by 2 brothers fishing
one of 4 95s for the trip to shady last week
fff1 (2).jpg
fff1 (1).jpg

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:42 pm
by Agent86
Managed to put the young feller onto a 99 a couple of weeks ago, gave him a bit of curry, i dropped 2 big ones, one of them was easy a 110 i reckon, lol. Managed a 95 myself last week, will be trying for an upgrade, some more good rain coming.
20210305_091252 1.jpg
20210305_091336 1.jpg
20210305_064830.jpg

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 6:58 pm
by hobbit
my deckie (brother) managed a 100cm last week at shady. i could only manage a 94cm..

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:40 am
Some great fish :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:58 am
by 2 brothers fishing
David (hobbit) use your own fish ya sook

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 6:06 pm
by Swoffa
Travelled all the way to King Ash Bay last week only to get blown away by strong winds and huge storms. Although we caught 50 barra on Fly for the five days fishing, the McArthur River system and islands didn't fire like they normally do.

Best fish for the trip was a 72cm but didn't take a photo as I thought we would easily upgrade so the next best was a 67. All fish were sight cast in less than a foot of water using 6" deceivers in White/yellow pattern.
67cm McArthur River Barra.jpg
67cm barra.jpg
Still beats joining the Conga Line :)

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 10:27 pm
by Maark
The decky is not going to claim this one. Picked up a 111cm Bazza near the crabbers camp in Tommycut. Crabbers must have been wondering what was going on hearing someone screaming Farken HORSE!
210323 111 cm Bazza happy.jpg

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:37 pm
by ozdodge
Wow - I thought I was tracking well until I saw Maark's fish - damn that's a stonker!

I did a Shady run the other day with a mate and whilst we got a few threadies, the barra were few and far between. Heading back to the ramp we pulled in to the barrages to catch a few rats, to restore our barra fishing egos, and after a couple casts with my little lucifer my line came up hard on a good fish. :clap:

The fish did all the good stuff, jumping, running under the boat, scaring me plenty, and when it was netted and stuck on the brag mat, it measured up 101cm, only my second metery, and 9 years between drinks. :mrgreen:
Trev's 101.JPG
Trev's 101 measure tape.JPG

A couple quick snaps and it swam away strongly to fight another day - what a great feeling! :cheers:

Trev's 101 - release image.JPG

First metery in the new boat, and hopefully one of many more to come! 8)

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:33 pm
by Daz12
Decky with a 95cm from Sampan the other day after spending the morning weaving in and out of boats....