FFF Seadogs 2019 delay

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:44 am
I have evac because of fires, have taken 2018 prizes with me but can't post them right now. Seadogs 2019 will start March 1. Hope u r getting rain, send me some :mrgreen:

Re: FFF Seadogs 2019 delay

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:42 am
Wow, good luck Matt. Hope you get some rain pronto!

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:11 am
Thats not good Matt, hope they get the fires under control ,stay safe

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:36 pm
by fff1964
Yeah stay safe Matt

OH AND KEEP PRIZES SAFE :lol:

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:22 am
by ronje
Guys

Things are a bit tense down there at the moment. Tassie firefighting efforts are concentrating on towns/villages etc.

Matt lives just outside one of those little places near the top of a river valley so if any defending is to be done, Matt will have to do it himself.

His place is surrounded by scrub with only one way in/out along the river valley road.

Trapped if fire jumps access road behind so authorities might not even let him back in anyway and house might have to look after itself.

Have a look at the link. Matt's place is in the middle of the southern cluster of red danger signs.

http://www.fire.tas.gov.au/Show?pageId=colGMapBushfires

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:24 am
Just stay safe Matt. A fishing comp really doesn't matter

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:38 am
Problem here is the wind is mad. I leave when the forecast gets silly and go back when it calms. Firefighters and giant water bombers are going hard when conditions allow, also helicopters with drop buckets. Like a war zone at times. Smoke is bad.

Got short paddocks around the house but a long driveway through dry grass and then one way in and out via a forested bush road.

Attached map shows that much of the Huon Valley is potentially under threat, fire is expanding and slowly travelling east towards dry grass paddocks and towns. This is just one of three or four major fires. Firies must be worn out, many are volunteers.

Most fires were started by dry lightning storm on Jan 15. Was more lightning last night, dunno if it started new fires.

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 11:43 am
by al57
hey matt stay safe ,get out if you can ,all my mums side is from down huon ,ranelagh way and the channel ,their fingers crossed it doesnt get to them .

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:17 pm
by MR126
All good Matt stay safe

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:28 pm
by Agent86
Hope you can catch a break Matt and get a little of that rain to come your way, looks pretty hectic around you. Stay safe!

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:57 pm
by Edo
Yeah mate as said before, stay safe and hope you get some rain soon, I saw them back burning around the cricket ground in Tassie tonight while I was watching the cricket.
bl..dy dry as a dead dingos donger here as well but no fires yet.

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:00 am
by ozdodge
Hope all goes well, and the weather does the right things.

Best wishes

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:40 am
by STANDY
Be down there 18th to the 22nd to see property I have there. Beers on me Matt

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:07 am
Have been at the farm clearing fuel. Already looks like it has been nuked as I've cut down flammable hedges and shrubs next to the house and thinned the trees. Some small trees have died and gone crisp so I lopped them. Grass around the house has gone from crisp to disappearing, leaving dusty dirt.

Don't think the fire will go anywhere soon but rain is forecast this week, they are actually doing rain dances at the evac centre.

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:52 pm
by b-radical
Hope you get some rain relief down your way Matt, Pi$$ing down here atm