Page 1 of 13

Fotofish 2021 - all entries on this thread

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2021 11:52 am

Territory Fotofish 2021 - kicked off February 1, please put all entries on this thread. Ends Dec 20, 2021.

1. Winner's prize is a Reidys Lures pack.
2. Runner-up prize is a Classic Lures pack.

Just post a picture or two from your latest fishing trip, a nostalgia shot, something interesting, something funny.

Your pictures will be tallied at the end of the year and the total put into into a simple draw for two winners.

Re: Fotofish 2021 - kicks off February 1

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:35 pm
by nomad
im in, just need to get a fish now

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 10:47 am
You and everyone else it seems :D

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:58 pm
by NinjaFish
Don’t get me wrong. I’m enjoying it and know we need it, but bl..dy hell I’m bored this wet season! :jester:

No harbour or out wide fishing now for too long so had to find another hobby. 2 wheel bearings left to go and then I’ll have to start polishing stuff...

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 5:21 pm
I eventually preferred Build-up barra trips in the harbour ... in and out on a tide in an arvo with a feed.

Wet season barra fishing is awesome, but a lot of travelling sometimes for mixed results. That said, a good wet season trip is mind-blowing.

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 6:16 pm
I'll kick Feb off with a photo from a camera trap.

One of Tasmania's mythical big cats. Just not big :lol:

Appears to be sniffing around for a .17HMR.

Another sighting :D ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuA1PwdOzT4

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2021 12:09 pm
by nomad
To me it appears to be slightly unbalanced.
Im sure a small projectile inserted at high velocity will fix its issues

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:33 am
by Ivan
The plan was to launch from Dundee & fish our way to the Peron islands, overnight there and fish the Reynolds before fishing our way home. The weather had other ideas and we pulled the pin on the trip as we had been beaten up enough by the time we got to point Jenny. I managed to put a 102cm Jewie in the esky but that was it for the day.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 7:13 pm
by NinjaFish
I’ve fished fairly consistently the last 3 wet seasons and had a ball dodging storms and such but this year has been mostly too windy with waves and swell and filthy water due to the rain. Obviously a good thing though.

Reckon I’ve only seen 2-3 unpredicted calm mornings in the harbour in the last 4-5 weeks.

I’ve polished the beer fridge and de-iced the chest freezer though.

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:58 pm
by Rawz
Landbased fishing has been tough for the last couple of months for me, only 2 landed Barra for the year. Both around the 50cm mark. 2 bigger units around the 70cm mark were lost. (one at the bank, D'OH!!)
IMG_2697.JPG
image2.jpeg
I took a trip out to Jabiru on Aus Day, I only saw 1 small Barra caught on one of the smaller bridges on the Kakadu Hwy. Plenty of tarpon at all the bridges and crossings.
image0.jpeg

Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 3:14 am
by Ivan
My son has made it back to Darwin for the first time in over 2 years and requested a feed of mud crabs. It was a bit of a challenge with all the fresh water around but we managed to get 4 nice bucks at Leaders Creeks.

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:42 pm
by b-radical
Great moment. Double on bluebone at the local nursery

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:48 pm
by NinjaFish
Tastiest fish I reckon b-radical.

Don’t reckon I’m going to get out this month so here’s a nostalgic shot from 2 years ago of a Black Spot that I caught on a servo prawn. Never got to taste it as I had to fly out the next day from me old mates in Qld. Can’t remember what it weighed nor what rod and line I was using but apparently it was a record after a few searched the internet.

Shame we didn’t have a camera or phone on the boat so got the dead slimy looking pic back home.

I thought it would be tough and gristly but apparently it was as sweet as the small models.

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:20 pm
Any more and we'll have to put bluebone in Seadogs ...

Or start a comp, Top End Bluebone Series :D

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:53 am
by Jeno
Blue Bone is one of my favourite fish, both to catch and to eat!