:o 8) :clap: excellent fishing right there..well done mate. :applause:

Re: Show us your biggest TAILOR

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:39 pm
Nice fish for the beach!

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:48 pm
by xxxx
sorry that there is no photographic proof but way back in the late 70's early 80' a crew of us would camp on Dirk Hartog Island just across water from Steep Point.We would catch Tailor up to 20lbs for sport and also barter with the crayboat crews for bait , as it would save them the time/fuel going back to Denham for supplies . I think at the time ,Tom Wartle alias Tom the cheap grocery chain was using the island as a sheep station.Just wish I had photos. :shock: :?

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:43 pm
by shaggs
xxxx wrote:sorry that there is no photographic proof but way back in the late 70's early 80' a crew of us would camp on Dirk Hartog Island just across water from Steep Point.We would catch Tailor up to 20lbs for sport and also barter with the crayboat crews for bait , as it would save them the time/fuel going back to Denham for supplies . I think at the time ,Tom Wartle alias Tom the cheap grocery chain was using the island as a sheep station.Just wish I had photos. :shock: :?
Yeah Sir Thomas Wardle did own Dirk Hartog Station
There were some big tailor to be caught in those days and yes not many of us carried cameras it was mainly fill the freezer trips
I can remember catching a 26lb one at Craddies Bar and a bloke named Brian Smith getting a 31lb tailor there
They were the good old days before the big write ups in mags

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:09 pm
by back-cast
Here is my biggest Tailor today... LMFAO.... :rofl:

Havnt got a pic of my biggest but it would have been about 6-7 kilo off of Bribie Island... 8)

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:28 pm
by shaggs
back-cast wrote:Here is my biggest Tailor today... LMFAO.... :rofl:

Havnt got a pic of my biggest but it would have been about 6-7 kilo off of Bribie Island... 8)
He's a cracker mate
Did you put a hook in his back and send him to the depths?

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:21 pm
by back-cast
shaggs wrote:
back-cast wrote:Here is my biggest Tailor today... LMFAO.... :rofl:

He's a cracker mate
Did you put a hook in his back and send him to the depths?
No i just ate him actually.... Love my tailor... got to eat them then and there though... no freezing...

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:33 pm
by drifter
Christ he has broken some laws in the last few days

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:53 pm
by shaggs
drifter wrote:Christ he has broken some laws in the last few days
:rofl: Sounds like he's been eating the evidence

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:54 pm
by Agent86
used to troll for little tailor in the swan, and use em for Kingy (Mulloway) bait, whole live or a nice fillet, used to work well in Mosmans.

Got a few good tailor around Stragglers, Carnac and Rottnest too

Got a nice little one last year with my bro at Carnac Island off Perth about 6lb, coupla nice Pinkies as well that night.

Used to catch heaps of Tailor at the Swanbourne drain, but never as big as mentioned in previous posts. Biggest was a 10 pounder i reckon! Still good fun to catch!!

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:44 pm
by olfart
Used to get some good ones off Trigg... AHHH tripod fishin'.. can't remember whe I last saw that..pretty common when i was a 'youngun', get a big roller come through as you're tryin to swing a big one up...Arseup and claret everywhere. Even the memory hurts.

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:06 pm
by shaggs
olfart wrote:Used to get some good ones off Trigg... AHHH tripod fishin'.. can't remember whe I last saw that..pretty common when i was a 'youngun', get a big roller come through as you're tryin to swing a big one up...Arseup and claret everywhere. Even the memory hurts.
Use to see them there all the time in the 70's out the front of the blue hole