Fun little day at buff creek

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:00 pm
by keenfisho24
Me and my old uncle as well as my little cousin had the day spair so we went down to buff creek. When we got there the tide was up. Only managed to get 2 mullet however a bunch of good sized prawns. Obviously I wasn't going to eat these but they did end up serving a good purpose. I was throwing the castnet while the boys were having a flick. It wasn't long before my uncle hooked up to a small barra I reckon in the low 50s. After a couple of jumps he finally spat the hook. It was low tide now so We then walked up to the rockbar on the way finding a couple of openings into the creek. Castnetted some more prawns and found a nice hole with a eddy. My first fish wasn't too impressive, a salmon tail Powertail about 60cm. That was the last of the mullet so I chucked 2 nice live prawns on a hook and lobbed it out. Didn't take long about 20 seconds before my rod went tap tap assumed it was just small sruff. However my line was moving at a fast pace so I knew I had a fish. I wound into the hookset and I see a barra jump out of the water. He jumped a couple of times but we managed to pull him in. He went 67 and was a nice chrome fish. He'd previously been hooked as there was about a metre and a half of line stcking out his gob with a hook right in his gills. He wasn't getting away the second time so he went in the esky for the day. We moved up to the rockbar and it took 20 minutes but my uncle hooked something else. Don't know but it spat it. Only 10 mins later my uncle AGAIN hooked something this time a big barra in the 80-90 s range. Sadly my uncle had the worst luck and again the fish just spat the lure straight out. Not a very good ratio of 1 out of 4 fish landed in 6 hours but we did have fun and ended up with a feed. Sorry but the only evidence is the head, fillet, frame and other remains.

Re: Fun little day at buff creek

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:04 pm
by keenfisho24
1569152027135-1112066820.jpg

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:09 am
Great report, good to hear Buff Creek still producing barra, even if most aren't staying hooked!

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:46 am
by Jeno
Nice one mate...good way to spend a couple of hours!