Back at Mandy

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:09 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
Arvo trip to mandorah jetty produced, started off with a couple of tarpon around 45cm on livies. Had a few other runs on the dead herring, however these ended up in bust offs. Soon after that, had a bit of fun with the sharks, landing a 2 and a bit later model. Then the fun began. My mate hooked up to a good queenie on some new livies, which went tail walking instantly. After a 10 minute fight, he landed the beast. It went 82cm to the fork, and 93 to the tip. He was happy with that, while I was green with envy. Soon after however, I hooked up on a livie to a bigger model, and a similar fight ensued. We landed the fish, and I was stoked. After some terrible trips and luck for the past month or so, I had found my mojo. The fish went 86cm to the fork, and 97 to the tip, making it my PB. Not a bad arvo :) 8)

Re: Back at Mandy

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:23 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
I saw this pic th :| :| at Matt uploaded.... :banghead:
Screenshot_2019-04-17-21-55-23.png
Great way to ruin an even greater spot. Progress hey ....bl..dy awesome isn't it????
Also I wonder what the environmental impact study said about the migration patterns of several species in that area???? ''

''Acceptable levels of total carnage and destruction'' no doubt ???? :fu:

Bugger all current will flow past it once they put these rock walls in and if they are anything like the one at cullen bay they are a great spot to break an ankle or lose a set of car keys especially at night :lol:[/quote]
Yeah, while at first it may seem like a good idea, that current that rips past is probably one of the things that make it such a great Landbased pelagic spot, or a great Landbased anything spot really. Also, I agree with you that this will effect several species that go through that area. And I'm sure a lot of people enjoy fishing and relaxing off a jetty rather than killing them self on a rock wall to get to open water.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:55 pm
by Tap'n'Zap
Nice queenie mate, well done.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:55 pm
Looks like the rock wall will have a footpath, if so will be a good spot to fish.

Nice fish BTW :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:46 am
by fff1964
Well done YGF

Queenies are an awesome fight good work 8)

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:51 am
by Wuhc
Good fish mate. Well done

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:11 am
by Young_gun_fisho
Cheers for the responses guys.
fff1964 wrote:Well done YGF

Queenies are an awesome fight good work 8)
I reckon they're the best sport fish readily available in northern waters, better than barra :D :lol:

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:07 am
On ya Young Gun , thats a good size Queenie seems like a few around I got 3 last W/end at EP , much smaller 8)

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:56 am
by ozdodge
Ripper skinny, well done mate

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:48 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
ozdodge wrote:Ripper skinny, well done mate

Cheers ozdodge!

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:38 am
by al57
great queenie YG your smile says it all ,brilliant to see a keen young fishoe ,wish more your age would get into this sport