Daly River land based

ChrisFishes

Daly River land based

Post by ChrisFishes »

Im heading out in 2 weeks for a camping/fishing trip with a few friends we were thinking of staying at douglas daly hot springs for the night and was wandering if anyone could give some insight into where a few good land based fishing locations would be we have a decent landcruiser so off road isnt a problem but just looking for a bit of info of where to fish and what kind of tides would do us best.

Any info is much appreciated.

Thanks Guys

ChrisFishes

Re: Daly River land based

Post by ChrisFishes »

Flickin4em wrote:The area on the Daly near Ooloo crossing is probably your best bet. No tidal influence mate it is pure fresh up that far. Live cherabin in the snags during the day or lures cast to drop offs from the gravel and sandbars at night both above and below the crossing should nail a couple. DOAs and storms placcies are pretty good up that way or perhaps a crystal minnow yozuri. Or if chasing sooties a bit of roadkill wallaby on a #2 bait holder will clean up. Plenty of them in the Douglas river but not many barra this year.

Good luck , chuck a few pics up for us when it's done. It's a nice spot out there and a few tracks that run down the side of the river are worth checking out too. :D

Thanks so much for your help mate much appreciated we will check this spot out on the second morning and fish it for the day before heading back to Darwin. Are there any other spots around douglas daly that you know of that are a bit closer? I will definitely put up some photos if we manage to catch something which im sure we will as we are all pretty stubborn and wont be leaving until we all catch something haha. :fishing: :fishing:
NT Wombat

Re: Daly River land based

Post by NT Wombat »

Give the Douglas Daly research farm a call, they will let you onto the lower reaches of the Douglas river where there are Tufa dams and decent fishing for Barra and Sooties, you could also drive to the end of Flemming road and fish stray creek, its a nice sandy little creek with heaps of sooties and the odd barra, walk downstream from the road. Watch for crocodiles wherever you go.