Page 6 of 8

Re: Just a "Dirty Ol' Punt."

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:49 am
by Captain6979
YESSSS!!! I've been singing it the whole time!! ha ha!

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:22 pm
by Captain6979
On the home stretch now me hearties...coat of paint this week, n she will be all painted..then its carpet and deck time..the end is nigh, and the Captain cometh for his fish soon.....

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:07 am
by Jeno
keep em coming mate.....I am interested to see how it turns out.....those flat bottom punts bang harder than a hungry hooker and I have higher sides on my coffee cup....BUT...I like what you are doing and I appreciate the time you have taken to post it up on the forum.....can't wait to see the finished product mate.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:26 pm
by Captain6979
Thx Jeno, yeah, I know she's low.. so needless to say I'll be choosy about when n where I'm fishing. ha ha! I'll eventually get a 15hp for the back I reckon as well. But when it's all done, I want to take anyone from the forum out, if they are keen, (or Brave) enough for a float, ha ha! Cheers Matey.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:34 pm
Get some scales on it mate, glassy all week

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:34 am
by al57
i had one of those punt years ago for our small creeks,on the bottom i put that honey comb aluminium sheeting and carpeted over that ,it made it supeer strong on the bottom and light

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:08 am
by Captain6979
Ya, tossed up the idea of ali-flooring, but unsure of cost.

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:50 pm
by Jeno
Captain6979 wrote:Thx Jeno, yeah, I know she's low.. so needless to say I'll be choosy about when n where I'm fishing. ha ha! I'll eventually get a 15hp for the back I reckon as well. But when it's all done, I want to take anyone from the forum out, if they are keen, (or Brave) enough for a float, ha ha! Cheers Matey.
No worries Captain...keep the chiropractor in business I reckon!
My mate in Townsville had one just like it years ago and he used the thing like an air boat.....funny as hell when there would a couple of boats pulled up on a sand bar with about 60cm's of water over it and he would just fly straight over it flat out 8)

Really good for tight creeks that have zero chop to deal with!

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:54 pm
by Captain6979
hell yes!! I cant wait to share the experience!!

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 12:01 pm
by Captain6979
Its going down, I'm yelling timber!! Front deck progress.. Holes cut to allow access, and for wiring for electric motor.

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:54 pm
by Captain6979
Well team, just one more piece to carpet for the front. Final coat of paint applied to the hull today. So next is to carpet the last piece for the front, and then have a few nice custom surprises..;)

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:01 pm
by Captain6979
Was gunna leave it like this, but carpet will be more practical. Ha ha!

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:03 pm
by al57
lookin real good now ,top job

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:08 pm
by Captain6979
Last bit for the day.....ooh yeah.....

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:13 am
by Jeno
Mate, now you're just being a clash funt.......really looking good!