Sand whiting

I Wish

Sand whiting

Post by I Wish »

What is the best size hook for catching them up here?

Shitzngigglz

Re: Sand whiting

Post by Shitzngigglz »

We have them up here ??????? I have never actually seen any whiting caught up here on a line only in the cast net !!!!!!!!!!!!

As small as possible. usually a size 2 or 3. If all else fails by a sabiki jig and bait that up.
mako

Post by mako »

You may want to use a hook as small as size 12 or just a little bigger, long shank is better for unhooking fish, peeled prawns is good bait. Roll fish in flour and panfry, serve with tomato rice and salad, Yum! :chef2:
rumjungle

Post by rumjungle »

You can get plenty of whiting off the beach at Lee Point in the dry.
I cut a sabiki jig in half and bait it up with prawn and the kids have a ball.

I got a pack of size 12 long shanks from craigs last week.
Got a few whiting from the mouth of rapid creek last week on them using peeled prawns as bait.
Manton mad

Post by Manton mad »

Iwish if you find em let us know as heaps of people catch em up here never seen any pics on the forum. I know its no barra an not worthy of a photo but a fish is still a fish thats why we are fisherman/fisherwoman show us your whiteys big or small :fishy:
fishing is my addiction there is no cure
Biff

Post by Biff »

Long shank hook as said above with a red bead and red tube above tha hook works a treat,whiting just love moveing bait.......thats why kids do so well catching them,they can cast and retrieve till their heart's content!!
Cheers.
happy slave

Post by happy slave »

Gday I wish and welcome to the forum,
as the above have mentioned small size hook with long shank, My daughter has a ball catching them at Casino creek on a rsing tide of 6mtrs plus, as do I as I then use them as live bait for the Barra and Jacks that also populate the creek at times, never anything massive but big enough to take home
I Find Your Lack Of Fishing Disturbing

get a kilo of squid from Woolies, and cut the tentacles off, makes a heap of baits for the kids and you can stll get a feed of squid from the mantles. Paternoster rig with size 12 long shank and a small spoon lead on the end. Lee Point seaward side of Buff creek is always good for a feed. :mrgreen:
graham.

The Doctor

Post by The Doctor »

I used to use a tiny extra long shank hook (size unsure, maybe a sz 12?) with a tiny amount of peeled prawn (quarter to half a pinkie nail sized). 10lb - 15 lb mono with minimum weight running sinker (depends on the tide, as long as the hook doesn't float). Lee Point beach is a good spot.

I have seen some old guys getting them one after the other.
At East-Point, the beach just opposite Alexander Lake, I sat there for a few minute, and they were just getting fish after fish...
If I was fishing for them, that is where I would go.

Trier

Post by Trier »

Hey Doctor, there's no whiting at Lee Pt!

Actually, there aren't any flatties, macs or trevally either!!!

Threw a chrome slice around off the rocks mid-day, didn't get a touch. Another fellow who had been there for a few hours struck out as well, losing a couple of lures to the Lee Pt tackle graveyard to boot!

Walked off the rocks as the tide started to cover them, and thought I'd have a try for some flatties and whiting. Again nothing. (the upside was though that the cooked & peeled prawns were fresh, and tasty too!).

The only fish out there was one tiny scat!

Looks like I'll have to see if there are any fish at East Point tomorrow......

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John
Manton mad

Post by Manton mad »

Have tryed lee pt as well on a incoming tide nothing but cattys birds got a good feed
fishing is my addiction there is no cure
darwinguy

Post by darwinguy »

Off Cas beach near the drip cliffs. out front of the stairs - nice and easy