Howard r landing LB

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:14 am
by goldfish
Headed down to the landing at howard river this arvo for a bit of a flick, it's got me stuffed how you'd manage to launch a decent boat off here even on the 5m tides there's no way I would drive a 4wd out onto these mudflats . But I headed up a bit further towards the rockbar and continued to cast my x rap into any area that looked deep enough to hold a barra or 2.

Out of a few hundred casts I did manage to get this little fella..as well as losing a few more. Not bad for a quick afternoon effort under a half hour from home. :D

Re: Howard r landing LB

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:55 am
by Brinno
Nice one! Gotta be happy with that.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:37 pm
by 1Lastcast
Nice fish there Landbased too, well done.

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:44 am
by RedDevil
Nice one!

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:43 am
by solo
Nice work not sure if its cold enough for a balaclava though

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:56 pm
by Doubz
How did you take the pic whilst in the water :lol: Watch out for them lizards!

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:51 pm
by BJOBrien
Did well to get the film up to the chemist, get the photo developed then post a pic up here in such a short time.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:51 pm
by goldfish
Doubz wrote:How did you take the pic whilst in the water :lol: Watch out for them lizards!
Yep, walking up there and back is the scariest bit as you have to cross almost 100m of knee deep water, sometimes more if going early or staying late if you are risking it all for one last fish on the incoming as it's a fair walk (over half a km upriver to where i fish) from the access point at the landing. A mate of mine stood on a stingray up this way a few years back casting the net for mullet. And I've nearly had the same thing happen a few times crossing the river ...
Pic was easy mate. I set the tripod up on the mudbank there in the pic then selftimed it.... easily done if you take a few and then check 'em out before release.
RedDevil wrote:Nice one!
Brinno wrote:Nice one! Gotta be happy with that.
1Lastcast wrote:Nice fish there Landbased too, well done.
Thx fellas, hope you get onto a few good ones too. Have a good chrissie and happy new yr. :drinking8:
BJOBrien wrote:Did well to get the film up to the chemist, get the photo developed then post a pic up here in such a short time.
Didn't know that you can still get film these days mate... took it on my phone.

:drinking28:

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:14 pm
by Swoffa
I set the tripod up on the mudbank there in the pic then selftimed it... .took it on my phone.[/quote]

WOW...Haven't see too many people strapping a tripod to their back while they are wading through the Howard. Come to think of it, I haven't seen tooo many phones mounted to a tripod. Maybe you are confused and just used a selfie stick :D

Not doubting your story but it seems to have a few flaws :twisted:

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:45 pm
by NinjaFish
Lov'n it :clap: :rofl:

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:03 pm
by goldfish
:rofl: :lolpoint:

There it is fellas (goldfish pat pend.) ... old lifeproof with hole drilled out to accept a tripod that fits in your pocket.

Have a good xmas swoffa and crew.

:fishing:

:fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy:

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:16 pm
by NinjaFish
I'll buy the first one. My deckie cant take a decent enough pic to post up here.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:08 pm
by Swoffa
All I can say is :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

It only takes one camel
And it would seem that you have certainly had your fair share
:fu:

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:38 pm
by NT Wombat
He's gonna catch the fish of a life time one day and no one will believe it

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:54 pm
by BJOBrien
Mate I actually think your stories would be great without all the mayo on them. You’ve obviously had some ripper trips, thanks for sharing.
And crop the glare off the photo, left of barras shoulders.