Page 1 of 3

Leanyer Water Park Culvert Query

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:03 pm
by Kadango
Gday Folks

I live not far from the water park, and since we have had this rain there has been a constant stream (pardon the pun) of vehicles heading to the gates next to the storm water drain, and heading in towards the coast - anyone got the good oil on this place - anyone ever looked?

Must be something with the numbers there - even the coppers had a vehicle parkerd there the other day

Thanks in advance

Drew

Re: Leanyer Water Park Culvert Query

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:15 pm
by Dundee Hombre
Drew, do a search on this site about that culvert. It came up a bit last year, yes they do get barra in there when there has been decent rain and when it happens around high tide time. usually very late arvo and early morning on the springs are you best bet. Becareful there have been crocs spotted in there in the past and rangers have trapped the odd one there.

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:16 pm
by seano
Well known wet season spot. Barra (small) and tarpon

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:27 pm
by Gregsy
I live just round the corner and have fished it a bit lately. Every time usually get half a doz tarps. Just waiting for some baz to push up. That spots all about timing I reckon.

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:43 pm
by Barramunday2Sunday
It was better back in the day when the fence wasn't put up.... you could drive all the way in saved the Hike.... used to make it through the back of Leanyer.... you would come across blokes doing the most extreme things to vehicles. If you wanted parts that was the place to get them from.

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:46 pm
by Kadango
Let us know when you heading down next Gregsy - might tag along if you dont mind

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:44 pm
by ambush
Definately Barra in there, my brother and cousins have fished it for years. Even caught some in last years pathetic wet. But like Dundee Hombre said, there are crocs there for sure!! Check with Parks and Wildlife, robbie, danny or Tom will tell you of any activity of recent.
Oh by the way....probably nah definately wouldn't eat what you pull out!

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:23 am
by STOKESY77
Whatever you do, do not eat any fish caught from there as that drain goes through pass the sh!t ponds out the back of Leanyer and gets flushed out into a little creek far up Buff creek called "Green" creek :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:46 pm
by Fish Tank
STOKESY77 wrote:Whatever you do, do not eat any fish caught from there as that drain goes through pass the sh!t ponds out the back of Leanyer and gets flushed out into a little creek far up Buff creek called "Green" creek :mrgreen:
I wouldn't worry about it too much. Barra move all over the systems, in and out with the tides. Many barra you'll catch in Shoal Bay would have been up Buff Creek at some stage. If its chrome it'll be fine to eat. Just be careful with how you process them. Wash them off good, skin them and try not to let the meat touch the outside of the skins and she'll be right :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:01 pm
by STOKESY77
Fish Tank wrote:
STOKESY77 wrote:Whatever you do, do not eat any fish caught from there as that drain goes through pass the sh!t ponds out the back of Leanyer and gets flushed out into a little creek far up Buff creek called "Green" creek :mrgreen:
I wouldn't worry about it too much. Barra move all over the systems, in and out with the tides. Many barra you'll catch in Shoal Bay would have been up Buff Creek at some stage. If its chrome it'll be fine to eat. Just be careful with how you process them. Wash them off good, skin them and try not to let the meat touch the outside of the skins and she'll be right :mrgreen:

You're a very brave man Fish Tank :)

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:10 pm
by john d
Usualy fish that area a few times each wet .
You can get a few barra and tarpon on the big tides along with plenty of rain.
You can follow the drain down fishing where other drains join.
Small green rubber tails work well for me.
Also a good spot for fly
A spot called the wood pile usualy turns up a few fish but you have to go a fair way down to get to it and cross a creek or two
take plenty of mossie repelant and dont be afraid to get dirty

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:27 pm
by mippa
i wouldnt eat it stuff that..

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:27 pm
by mippa
i wouldnt eat it stuff that..

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:30 pm
by ghound
The best place to fish is the outlet directly behind the sewerage ponds.

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:22 pm
by seano
ghound wrote:The best place to fish is the outlet directly behind the sewerage ponds.
You will hook plenty of tampons there too- not tarpon. :|