stokes hill

Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 11:14 pm
by wrangler
Going to stokes hill wharf on friday night, but ive never fished there anyone got any tips on how to fish it, would be much appreciated\.

Re: stokes hill

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 12:02 am
by Trier
Hi Wrangler, I can't help you directly but there is quite a bit of info in some old threads; just type Stokes Hill into the search function.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 12:33 pm
by nagz
do your drag up

the wind will push your bait/livie all sorts of places

when you hook up, go hard to get them out

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:23 pm
by Big Dave
G'day

Was there on Friday night and the weekend before to get bait decided to fish at the same time. There are loads of Sardines around so just get a jig, and jig around the water pumps as thats were they seem to hanging about. I Fished the little carpark next to the platfrom at the start of the wharf entry or along with white wooden fence line on the left while going into the wharf. Sardines should be plethora a few hours before top of the tide. I used all methods including running sinker, float, free bait but nagz is right the water takes the bait everywhere and sure enough youll get snagged if your not watching. Try and keep your bait alive as i found that the fish werent taking the dead ones.

Ended up with a few undersize barra, a 70cm odd queenie, 2 Powertail, 2 eels and some kind of shark. Lost a few big takes my guess is my hook was two small. i was using 2.0 - 3.0 hooks.

seen plenty of queenies about they seemed to be busting up around the platform where there were seas of sardines.

hope this helps mate

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:25 pm
by Big Dave
I meant two Powertail not power tail i dont know what the hell that came from !

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:01 pm
by ken_dog
Auto correct?? they are still stinking c@t fish to me

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:05 pm
by Shitzngigglz
I was there last night havin a feed and saw a S%#te load of trevally gettin around ........ like the others have said keep your drag tight and don't forgett your drop gaff just in case....... good luck I may even see you there !!!!!!!!!!

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 12:47 am
by olfart
cooked prawns from woolies..hang onnnnn.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:32 am
by darwinguy
Any squid around yet ?