Stolen boat

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:38 am
by Melv
Gents,

Some lowlife dog has knocked off my boat from our yard in Winnellie. Happened between 3.00pm yesterday Friday 14th and 5.00 am this morning.

4.55 Ally Craft side console
50 hp Suzuki with faded graphics (all white now, no red)
Trailer Rego TG4400
White with grey, black & red stripes, jumping barra on rear of both sides. Plenty of stone chips and general wear.

If any one has any info please call or PM

0417 887 280

Re: Stolen boat

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:00 am
That sucks, I'll keep an eye out

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:33 am
by Agent86
Damn Melv
Hope you find her

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:44 pm
Sorry to hear that mate , hope you get it back .
Then cut their nuts out . :hunting: :evil:

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:34 am
by Edo
will spread the word mate, hope you can get it back

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:17 am
Hey melv I just printed of some pics and will be asking all my drivers and couriers to keep a look out .

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:23 am
Someone on FB said quad bikes being knocked off too, possibly a container being loaded for shipping out. Interesting theory. Always thought a "fruit fly" stop for all trucks in and out of Darwin would be a good way to stop organised crime.

Will pay to watch national classifieds in a fortnight or so, they'll have to rebirth it, will take a while. They might even have storage for longer periods. Who knows.

Terrible thing to happen Melv, sorry to hear it.

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:28 am
by nomad
There are 2 main possibilities

Firstly, it could just be an opportunistic theft and might be used locally by locals, or out bush/island
I know a lot of boats on the Tiwis are suspect
So if your neighbor suddenly turns up with a new boat and ‘hides’ it in the backyard or out of sight from the street, have a 2nd look at it

Might be worth contacting the barges to get them to keep an eye out.

Secondly, it’s an organized thing.
I think Matt is on the money. It’s probably in a container and either stored with others ready for transport or has already been moved south by now.
Years ago we busted a family of organized crooks who had stolen panel vans, cars, bikes etc etc hidden in containers on site ready for shipping to NZ.
• The crooks usually hide them immediately, ie it wont be stored where you can see it from the street.
• Its not worth their while to tow just one boat down the highway so they would load it onto a truck
TBH, How often do you take notice of the vehicle next to you? they could be towing the trailer right next to you and you would never know.

For the rest of us, get/make some small alum plates and engrave your licence number on the plate. Secure them in a spot where the crooks cant find them and take a photo.
I had a boat stolen in NSW 30 years ago. 6 years later the police called me to say the boat had been found in Wollongong - the trailer was found in Newcastle. When I told them about the hidden id plates, it sealed the case.. It turned out to be a couple of concretors working on the next block who took a liking to my boat. It was only worth $7k back then

Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:17 pm
by Melv
Gents,

For those who may not have seen on FB already, here's some pics of the vehicle involved in the theft of my boat. Any information please PM me.

Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:53 pm
by coastaljoy
Bastards, I thought there would be other CCTV in the area that would have got the number plate also. Should be fairly easy for someone to spot the vehicle, all other 4WDs in the NT are Toyota I would think.
I hope you get it back

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:14 am
by fishhunter81
Yeah well done with sourcing the pics. It should only be a matter of time before this scum is located and I hope you get the rig back.

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:52 pm
by nomad
Did you have to source those pics or did the cops give them to you? I assume the cops now have the pics

i found out years ago that police dont actively look for stolen vehicles. one copper told me 'they could be driving right next to us and we would never know'

these days they have rego plate recognition software in highway patrols

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:19 am
by grumpy
Hi Melv just bumping this up to the top for you any luck finding the thieving scum yet?

Cheers grumpy

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:09 am
by Melv
Thanks Kev. No luck yet mate. Got my fingers crossed. Can't be too hard to track down a busted arse Landy you'd think.......... Don't think my boats the only thing they've knocked. Fukcen hate thieves :hunting:

Timing sucks. I finish work end of this month and had 3 months of fishing/crabbing/camping planned before we head to Tassie. Staying optimistic for a positive result.