Great Barrier Reef $500m bullsh.t spend

Posted: Sun May 06, 2018 8:50 am
Hot on the trail of the save-the-Murray-Darling billions of dollars wasted comes $500 million to "save" the Great Barrier Reef, which has forced scientists to state the obvious, that it won't save the reef because the reef is dying from climate change ... https://www.yahoo.com/news/millions-ple ... 41241.html

Mind blowing how they can find so much money for bullsh.t projects when so many people are in need.

And if they are serious about fixing the reef, then stop making coal mines and start creating jobs in renewables. Renewables might not be perfect, but there is no choice.

If they are serious about the Murray then they need to fine the people/companies taking excess water.

Re: Great Barrier Reef $500m bullsh.t spend

Posted: Wed May 09, 2018 6:35 pm
by ronje
Matt

Welcome to the "fed-up" club. Its not hard to obtain membership. There's so much of it around that its reached epidemic proportions.

With an election on the horizon, I think its a case of a desperate Govt throwing money at whatever green group has a whinge about something. GBR, Murray-Darling, renewables etc.

We'll probably see a bunfight between green causes about who should get the handouts in the splurge.

I see that George Christiansen (Lib/Nat electorate near Mackay, Qld) has announced that he's been ordained as a Deacon in the Anglican church. Just gotta be some votes in that achievement!

The saying up this way is that when your neighbour starts quoting the scriptures then its time to count your cattle.

Were you aware that recently there was a funding suggestion from some bunch of green crazies to spray some sort of sun-screen compound on the waters of the reef when higher than normal temperatures were predicted to stop coral bleaching?

Might have been some group mixed up with James Cook Uni from memory. They're odds-on for a few million surely?

Might even have been this crowd with the $500 million. Buy a lot of slip-slop-slap with that.

Posted: Wed May 09, 2018 7:40 pm
The saying up this way is that when your neighbour starts quoting the scriptures then it's time to count your cattle.
Love the quote.

Yes, a bit fed up. There's that much bullsh.t out there, no action. Daughter showed me a documentary on YouTube about seabirds dying, the birds are chockers with plastic. She was crying. Plastic waste is a growing problem that's been known about for years, but no one is doing anything to fix it. Just a bit of fluffing around with shopping bag laws.

Just bullsh.t grants, bullsh.t politics, and endless cronyism.

Clearly, I need to go fishing.

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 10:49 am
by ronje
Any fish down where you are (apart from trout)?

Once you take trout out of the equation you don't hear much about any others.

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 11:14 am
Very good tuna and swordfish Ron, as well as deep sea bottom fish. But you need a decent boat and windows in the weather.

Good sea trout run in some rivers in spring.

The beach fishing is mostly poor. Black bream in estuaries, some flounder spearing to be had at night, crayfish and abalone if you don't mind all the paperwork.

In the salt, flathead is the staple fish.

Life jackets to be worn at all times.

I enjoy the trout fishing because of the scenery, the fish are mostly small though.

I am restoring a vintage Hardy Palakona split cane fly rod and hope to give it a run next season.

Posted: Sat May 12, 2018 6:13 am
by ronje
Getting wet at the moment?

Posted: Sat May 12, 2018 8:28 am
Yes, we had a helluva rain event, thunder and lightning too, after months of hardly a drop. Big thunderstorms are rare where I am.

Was worse in Hobart, where cars were washed down roads and buildings flooded.

They aren't quite ready for monsoonal rain in the Apple Isle.

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 5:26 pm
by NinjaFish
It's all a contradiction.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2018 ... ef/9783420

Just Government running the country like a Sydney market day. So many shareholders and too many directors that know best.

$500m could buy a lot of land back.

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:40 pm
This would be hilarious, except we are paying for it and it is a waste of money ... https://www.theguardian.com/environment ... e-surprise

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:22 pm
More evidence that the GBR grant was a joke ... https://www.theguardian.com/environment ... nthinkable

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:15 pm
by Bushy
$500m would help a lot of struggling Aussies atm, and most are struggling due to these muppets stupid decisions.
And heres a good one for you, my son at school gets in troubble for saying gday, must be hello they say bl..dy political correctness gone mad . The whole system had gone mad, throwing $500m at a reef and stuff all to the farmers in drought.

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:14 pm
Excellent example Bushy, how the money could have been better spent.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:52 am
by ronje
There's no good housekeeping in spending money that we haven't got.

World finance institutions are loaning money to countries that can't afford the repayments. Exactly the same "crimes" for which banks have been criticised. Remember the world financial crisis of 2008? That started the same way.

Aus is so much in debt that it'll be a long long time before we pay our debts even if we stop borrowing now. Our "national credit card" might not yet be max'd out yet but its not far from it.

We had our "big binge" in 2007 - 2013 but haven't paid for it. Nobody likes the economic medicine that needed to be prescribed after that binge. Instead, that binge was simply continued.

Now 5 years later, that simple medicinal prescription won't work. Being left untreated, the economic malaise has now developed to the stage where surgery is necessary and people dislike surgery more than medicine.

And both potential govts next year are voicing responsible economic management yet breaking their necks to get their hands on that credit card and spending up buying support like its a christmas binge.

But to what end? So recipients can say "Its like winning lotto"?

Which it is I guess especially when you don't even buy a lotto ticket.

I see now that that Labour is inviting Turnbull for talks on advice on how to handle his backbench. How's that for arrogance?

They need to amalgamate and Aus needs to understand that high density population centres have completely different lifestyles to lower density or regional centres.

Yet its the higher density ones that are being pandied to. They even have their own party. Those who are happy in their little cramped niche but want everybody else to think and live like them. The greens.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:44 am
by Bushy
Great comments Ronje, reminded me of the hype on the population debate the other week. Gov wanting to move more people into rural communities. Firstly wheres the jobs going to come from and atm our local young ppl cannot even find work very easily.
I used to leave house and cars unlocked up to 2 years back, now i cannot and carry the shotty all times in the old farm ute. Thanks to gov for bringing city druggie scum out here all for cheaper accommodation for them to trash.

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:05 pm
Something else they could have spent the money on ... https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/healt ... 4c7a5db500