Darwin Accountants - Can anyone recommend a good one?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:24 pm
by NTFizzer
Can anyone recommend a good accountant for a reasonably complicated tax return? ... and why they are good!

Re: Darwin Accountants - Can anyone recommend a good one?

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:49 pm
by Trier
Over 24hrs and not one recommendation; bit of a worry!

I can't help you: Our accountant is interstate and we have been looking for a local one too, haven't found one yet. :|

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:38 pm
by deano
if you find one let me know. i need the shonkiest bastard out there :D

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:11 am
by Milney
We use Leo Cleanthous & Associates 08 89810222 been good to us for about 4-5 years....

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:24 am
by Blinky
I’ve used the same lady for about 15 years, followed her from company to company, she is currently at Barry Hansen Chartered Accountants 89815585.
I’m not sure if she would like having her name plastered on the net...............PM me if you want.

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 3:05 pm
by BenH
I work for one of the major banks, over time i've dealt with a number of accountants in Darwin, have no hestitation in recommending Chris Hochman from Lowry's Accountants Ph - 8947 2200.

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:59 pm
by Dundee Hombre
We use an accountant at the Homemaker Village Millner. He has done a great job, we have investment property, we both work, in education and he was able to get us returns yearly in excess of $10K for the last three years and that is about $7k better than our last accountant.

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:01 am
by Trier
Hi Dundee Hombre, you must be one of those ruthless Darwin landlords I read about that just rip poor tenants off, and push house prices up so the average person can't afford them!! :mrgreen: :rofl: :rofl:

Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:15 am
by Spook
Des Fong at ITP at Nightcliff.

He is definitely one who fits into the description you provide, a bl..dy good bloke and he is on a crusade to wring every last bit of legal entitlements out of the ATO

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:08 pm
by NTFizzer
Thanks for all the recommendations folks, much appreciated!

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:19 pm
by wishfish77
Dundee Hombre wrote:We use an accountant at the Homemaker Village Millner. He has done a great job, we have investment property, we both work, in education and he was able to get us returns yearly in excess of $10K for the last three years and that is about $7k better than our last accountant.
G'day Dundee Hombre, can you tell me who you go to at the Homemaker Village? I've found the actual business, just wondering who you see specifically? (PM me if you're not comfortable posting their name here)

Cheers!

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:49 pm
by fishfanatic
Trier wrote:Hi Dundee Hombre, you must be one of those ruthless Darwin landlords I read about that just rip poor tenants off, and push house prices up so the average person can't afford them!! :mrgreen: :rofl: :rofl:
No he's probably like me just willing to work longer harder and smarter..hence why he has a house and investment property :lol: :lol: :lol: :D :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:23 pm
by skinny joel
fishfanatic wrote:
Trier wrote:Hi Dundee Hombre, you must be one of those ruthless Darwin landlords I read about that just rip poor tenants off, and push house prices up so the average person can't afford them!! :mrgreen: :rofl: :rofl:
No he's probably like me just willing to work longer harder and smarter..hence why he has a house and investment property :lol: :lol: :lol: :D :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
i know this is tongue in cheek, and im not trying to bite and get nasty
(SO SEANO MAXPOWER AND BENJAM STOP CRAWLING OVER EVERYHTING I POST!!!)
]HUMOUR ALERT HUMOUR ALERT
END HUMOUR ALERT END HUMOUR ALERT=

but out of interest, how long ago did you buy your house and investment house, as there is a lot of darwinites that cant relate to the struggle of today.
i hear a lot of this "its not that hard, i bought a house and piad it off..... dont see the big fuss" yeah cheers mate, things werent as expensive back than (yes im aware that wages were less 10,15 20 years ago, but its a fact houses have gone up way more than wages)
mate i am married, no kids, dont drink or smoke, no drug addictions, no loans and my wife works,
but wee still cant get approval for a house loan, nor could we afford one, unless i wanted to live at baggot community, could afford a shed and block out at humpty do or noonamah/darwin river maybe, but the commute would eat up the savings made from lower repayments.
have dogs and a lifestyle, so cant/wont buy a unit/ dont want to deal with body corporate.

i also work no less than 50 hours a week, and whgen the work is on upwards of 58 hours, havent had a sick day in 5 years, so im no bludger, so for the average person to buy nowadays things are a bit harder, also you may ask why i dont have mucjh of a house deposit...?.....
because i pay more than the bl..dy average mortgage on friggin rent, i need the job to pay the rent, i need the house to live in so i can go to job :bonk: :banghead: , if i didnt need the house, i wouldnt need the job.... :rofl:
looks like i will go on the doll and live at the boat ramp :catch: .

p..s off south some might say... cant afford the fuel :captain: lol

BACK ON TOPIC
i use and roccomend ITP palmerston.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:58 pm
by maxpower
(SO SEANO MAXPOWER AND BENJAM STOP CRAWLING OVER EVERYHTING I POST!!!)
]HUMOUR ALERT HUMOUR ALERT
Is that your disclaimer so people don't disagree with your ummm 'opinions'? End humour alert!

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:00 pm
by skinny joel
oh wow you are a troll :rofl:
anybody is free to disagree with anything that is an opinion over fact, part of the great thing being here.
the above is there so you dont take tongue in cheek posts and humour so seriously and keep the threads fun and without vicious personal attacks.
if thats ok with you of course, or do you disagree..... as per standed operating procedure... :D
HUMOUR ALERT HUMOUR ALERT
END HUMOUR ALERT END HUMOUR ALERT