13-9-2

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:50 pm
by Swoffa
Now before anyone starts giving advice blah blah yardah yardah. I know that this is a pathetic conversion rate but it was a good first hit out for the year and we learnt from our mistakes.

My son and I headed out this morning for a day trip to Long Lost. Dropped the first three fish before 8am. I had connected the rig to the hook a bit too tight which didnt allow the circle hook to pivot and hook up in the corner of the jaw. Instead the bait and hooks pulled straight out of the sails mouth. A quick amendment to the rig and we were back in action.

The next two sails were landed with one each to myself and my son. The rest of the sails for the day were dropped purely because the bait was too big for the small fish to swallow. We were using garfish about 10 - 12 inches long but the sails were only around the 8 - 10 Kg mark and couldn't stuff the bait down their gob. They verociously attacked the baits and kept on coming back for more but you could see them hanging onto the bait in their mouths. I tried to cut down and shorten a gar but then nothing would touch it. I tried skipping a couple of scads that were a lot smaller than the gar but they just spun like a wheel. I even tried towing a small tarpon but nothing was interested. I reckon the guys using smaller gar would have cleaned up this weekend.

It was good to catch up with NoGood at the ramp and get the low down on what had been happening. Also good to have a chat with "Fishful Thinking" on the water (not sure if he is a FFF Member).

So as it stands.....We saw a cr.p load of fish, raised a fair few, hooked a reasonable amount and ended up catching bugger all. But still, two sails is better than none....and we ended up learning a hell of a lot.

Jarryds Sail.JPG
Warrens Sail.JPG
The spread.JPG

Cheers :drinking1:

Re: 13-9-2

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:55 pm
by sharkbait
That's two more than me, mate. Good job. Sails are definitely on the bucket list, maybe this year.

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:06 pm
by jonr
Did you guys hit a good patch or did other guys see similar numbers?

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:48 pm
by mickkk
I seen 2 about 2.5 m long free swimming near our boat. First time I seen them before.
We did it pretty tough, I got 2 cobia just under 1m, not too manny reefies tho. Heaps of bait about in the morning just frolicking in the sun, but not too much chasing it.

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:24 am
by Nogood
Swoffa we had trouble hooking fish we were useing 6/0 hooks when we dropped back to 4/0 we went 4 from 4 so little baits and little hooks and go softy softy

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:02 am
Good job mate , and a great first run for the year :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:14 am
by blklabel
Orsome pics, we are thinking of heading out this weekend off dundee to chase a few sails.

Been in town 8 months and havent had much joys on the sails as yet, if you could share any hints or tips for down dundee way would be greatly appreciated ?

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 2:07 pm
by Swoffa
Blklabel, PM sent with a couple of starting locations and ideas for you.

JONR, there were a lot of fish there all throughout Long Lost. Most of the boats that I was talking to reported seeing and raising a fair few with one boat going 8-5-5 before lunch. It would seem that Sail city was a bit quieter with a lot less boats but have also had reports from a mate who went 10-2-2 for only a couple of hours chasing billfish before he started targetting the huge schools of longtail tuna there.

NoGood, I saw the first one that you guys hooked. It went ballistic behind the boat and I reckon it must have been dancing on top of the water for a good 10 seconds. Need to get your radio fixed for next time :)

Warren

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:14 pm
by tubbs
Great effort Swoffa.

Keen to have a go myself this year. have got all the gear, just have never tried. 2 landed is a good result I reckon

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:03 pm
by scottmac
Cheers for the report. Augers well for the season.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:41 pm
by Swoffa
How much difference four days can make.

Went back to Long Lost today. The weather wasn't too bad but the water had turned to absolute cr.p. The colour was a light milky green and there was heaps of weed and rubbish floating throughout the entire area.

We did see two sails amongst the tune schools but couldn't entice them so we trolled the whole day for 0-0-0.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:06 pm
by jonr
Me too - lots a macs around - black lable got 1 .

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:54 pm
by trevor schultz
Hi swoffa that's me on fishfull thinking that day I radioed you we went 8-5-5 went back on Monday and went 6-2-2 and Thursday before we went 2-0-0
Don't worry about your stats fishing short handed in a small boat and not even running riggers your bound to drop a few fish. There were 3 Black marlin caught on Saturday to!

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:06 pm
by Swoffa
Hi Trevor, good to catch up the other day and well done with the catch rate. I would have given my left arm to have gotten back out there again earlier this week but had to settle for today....

Well done to BlkLabel if they got a sail today as it was really tough going.

Warren

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:20 pm
by jonr
Trevor - I am still quite new to this - how long would you normally work and area before moving on? I worked that 5km streach hard all day - should we have moved to sail city after and hour or 2 with no hook ups?

Jon