Another Ripper Sail

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:30 am
by deepblack
Hi All,
Here's another ripper Sailfish, we scored this bad boy yesterday wide of Cape Bowling Green. Went 240cm short length and approximately 70kg.
The bite was epic like a scene from Jaws, I saw the fish appear 5m behind the skip bait and as he approached he had his sail up until his entire back was out of the water with the sail still up as he piled on the bait, dropped it straight down his throat as he opened his mouth and came up tight as soon as he turned and handed the rod to the Deckie. He's pretty chuffed with his first Billfish. 8)

Cheers, :cheers:
John.
20130914_121601 (Medium).jpg

Re: Another Ripper Sail

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:33 am
by balawisway
Well done :)

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:27 pm
by DOUG
nice fish all right !! 70kg is a big fish !!
Few about over there. ?

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:02 pm
by Kp NT
Nice sail well done :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:13 pm
by Skippadman
Nice work

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:38 pm
by deepblack
Kp NT wrote:Nice sail well done :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Depends which graph you look at doesn't it?

Mine has a 55kg fish at 225cm short length...... Let's call it for 62.5 then.

http://www.pvgfc.com/BILLFISH%20FORMULA1.pdf

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:45 pm
by Anglers Choice
Beautiful fish

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:53 pm
by deepblack
Thanks mate,
I'm seriously questioning my decision to pass the rod over now. :banghead: That's ok though, as you know I got to do the best bit. :wink:

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:00 pm
by deepblack
Sorry KP, knee jerk reaction. I seriously believe the fish went 65-70kg. It was very thick through the torso.

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:30 pm
by DOUG
Got any better pics of it ??

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:33 pm
by Kp NT
Haha no stress deepblack, no matter what the graph says its still an awesome fish one of the biggest I've ever seen!

Maybe you should ignore the green colour on the graph and go of the blue one hahahaha. :rofl:

Yeah the best bit is the hook up the rest is just hard work lol

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:15 pm
by deepblack
Cheers KP, there have been a few Crackers around this year, some of the Blacks have been pretty good too.

Doug, no mate. Trying to get it back in ASAP. Gutted I didn't have my GoPro mounted on the T-Top for the strike either.

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:48 pm
Outstanding sail there John :applause: :bow:

I spent 30mins on sat hooked up but no joy , cut off by mackies .

Best sail pic I,ve seen on here ,,,Cheers

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:47 pm
by Agent86
Ripper fish John

Well done on that, bet the old hairs were standing up on the back of the neck and the fingers were getting tingly when he came up behind the bait, that's the best part I reckon, watching them actually eat it, instead of turning round and disappearing!

Great stuff

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:52 pm
by Finatic2
bl..dy Ripper, great work