Queenie baits. Where and how?

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 6:37 pm
by cpaddy
Hi guys. Could use a bit of your expertise here. I need to catch a few small queenies for a mate for the gove classic this year and I reckon they will be a top fun catch for my kids too. Where is the best spots, tides etc and what do you guys reckon? cheers.

Re: Queenie baits. Where and how?

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:18 pm
by cuddlescooper
Emery point on the bit of a bar that sticks out on the Cullen bay side inside the sand bar. Small maribu jigs or chromies. incoming tide

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:57 pm
by dannett
In coming tide? I've always done well on the turn and run out but not of late. I may have to that tactic.

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:01 pm
by Panam
Wharf this time of the year on neap tides, small chromies. Water must be clear, early in the morning

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:15 pm
by Ben Jam
There is a little bit of exposed reef when cutting across from the whalf to west arm. There is always a endless supply of small queenies, Best is the incoming tide either springs or neaps.

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:28 pm
by Agent86
Depends how far you want to go?

If you want the little leathery queenies which would be perfect and are tough as.
If you head out early and catch the high tide on springs along the edge of the reef at the Northwestern Tip of the Northeast Vernon you are almost guaranteed of a few, they are always there in numbers.

Along with a few other fish feeding there

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:57 am
by googz
what i wouldnt give for your vernon marks agent86

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:44 am
by cpaddy
Thanks heaps guys. Will get into em this weekend :-)

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:12 am
by Agent86
Don't think you're the only one googz

All you have to do is go there and have a look, that's how I found them, after aver 20 years I'm still finding new ones there, as well as plenty of other places :-)

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:05 pm
by zohaa
They good eating?

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:14 pm
by dannett
zohaa wrote:They good eating?
Depends on how precious you are. Probably best done as Numus or in a curry. Have tried them in a light batter and they're better than what you get from most fish and chip shops. Like all fish keep them fresh by bleeding them and get them on ice straight away.

Dan

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:16 pm
by Plate Size
If you are in Darwin city, which is close to any queenie ground, try East point rocks or deckchair cinema spots , live bait on float or bottom. Dead baits: pilchards, prawns squid. If luring, yes...chromies will be the best. If you could snag some garfish at east point rocks, they are a favourite queenie meal out there, at deckchair cinema are, live sardines works. Lately down stokes hill , lots of queenies but trevallies beat the cr.p out of them. If you are outskirts off darwin city, I can't really say what's happening. Tight lines.
Little queenies are abound Cullen bay pontoon as well. like 500 grams mark, which a number 8 sabiki bait jig can haul up. Good luck
Btw, queenies are top sport fishes, low rating as a tasty fish. But if you names/numbs it, it's a top tasty fish. Depends on your palate and ways of preparing fish .