New to the territory and have a billfish addiction..

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:08 pm
by goin boating
Hello all,

New to the top end and loving it. recently got a new boat from down south and was out chasing marlin of the NSW coast caught my first and now im hooked.

so basically looking for any pointers for up here. basically all I did in nsw was head for the shelf looking for current lines, bait balls, birds and temp brakes along the way and when it started to look fishy I dropped the spread out the back and trolled round for hours on end. with some success and some failures.

im guessing it's all a bit different up this way though so basically gone back to being a complete novice again.

any help would be awesome

cheers in advance

goin boating!!!!!!!!

Re: New to the territory and have a billfish addiction..

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:56 pm
by deepblack
Hey Mate,
It needs a rewrite to fit with the information I have accrued since I originally wrote it, (I've caught alot more Blacks since then! :) ) but it will still stand you in good stead.

http://fishingterritory.com/blogs/tragic/

Others will no doubt disagree with me but for a Sailfish dominant fishery with alot of water between fish some years trolling dead baits or Switch Baiting is the way to go. With either method you get the benefits of covering ground at 5-6 knots but with the hook up ratios of real bait and Circle Hooks. Use Switch Baiting if the Macks are really bad.

If I was up in the Territory this year from September onwards during the buildup I would target North Gutter and maybe even Bathhurst Trench overnight with the following Spread:

Daisy Chain Bird Teaser
Circle Rigged Skipping Gar on outrigger one
Circle rigged Swimming Gar on outrigger two
Twin J hook rigged Swimming Gar on a downrigger, remove if the fish are raising well to keep things simple
Big Circle rigged skip bait (40-60cm) on 15/24kg to present to bigger fish doubling as a second teaser for the smaller fish on the side opposite the daisy chain. Fresh caught School/Spottie Mackerel to match the hatch for preference but a small Queenie is excellent and Tarpon are good too.

Good luck and I will see you around in the new year as I just found out I'm moving back to Darwin. 8) 8) 8)
Cheers, :cheers:
John.

P.S. Here's one I caught last week out of Townsville on a Bonito approx 45cm long, so don't be scared to have a big bait in the water, I have seen some huge fish hanging around the resident Mackerel and Tuna schools at North Gutter.
IMG_0836.jpg

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:06 pm
by deepblack
have a billfish addiction
And welcome to the funny farm..... :bonk: :banghead: :rofl:

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:42 pm
Nice billie John, good to hear your coming back.

G.B ,,I reckon Johns blog is some of the best info you,ll get, it has helped me heaps.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:23 pm
by darwinguy
You will fit right in here with all of us other addicts up here. Tip - follow previous history posts on here about billfish and you will work out a routine and techniques that will produce the goods. I did that and now do better than the average joe blow chasing sails and small blacks. Have quite a few now of both and love it !!!!

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:49 am
by deepblack
darwinguy wrote:You will fit right in here with all of us other addicts up here. Tip - follow previous history posts on here about billfish and you will work out a routine and techniques that will produce the goods. I did that and now do better than the average joe blow chasing sails and small blacks. Have quite a few now of both and love it !!!!
Take note of this, very good advice. Unlike Queensland where GPS marks for even pelagics are a state secret punishable by death there is a wealth of knowledge and marks put up by like minded fishos in the NT because they understand that the more fish are being caught (and released!) the easier they are to track as the season progresses. It's a relatively small group that chases them and most are more than willing to share what they know but it only works if others pass the knowledge they accrue in turn.
Cheers, :cheers:
John.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:05 am
by goin boating
Cheers guys

I'll be looking through all the posts and taking notes till all my gear arrives. then ill head out and put it into action and report back here with the good the bad and the funny poop that happens along the way

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:11 am
GTPOP,,, you will get a better result if you post up some pics on new post in the classifides.

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:22 pm
by mickkk
Probably not able to yet as he only has one post. But at least introduce ya self and complement a few fish and you will soon build up enough post.