Thailand Fishing Charters

Welcome to international visitors. And local members, tell us about your fishing holiday ...
jack

Thailand Fishing Charters

Post by jack »

Has anybody been fishing in Thailand? If so what did you catch and where did you catch it. Also does anybody have recommendations for a decent charter in the Phuket area. :???: I'm over that way on holidays next week and Im keen to do a day charter. If no one knows much I will take my chances wandering Patong / Karan beach and see where and on who's boatr I end up. I will follow up with a Thailand fishing report which should be amusing at the very least. :grin:

Cheers Jack........

...................... G,day Jack i'm hoping to go over not this January but the next one but i've given you some link's of the ones i've been checking out, make up your own mind but it's hard to tell, i have a mate who is heading over this January so i'll have the goods on whats happening when he get's back, he is chasing Billfish, that's what i want to do when i go

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

http://www.thaifishingguide.com/saltwat ... index.html
http://www.phuketdeepseafishing.com/
http://www.reelhooker-phuket.com/
http://www.1fghp.com/thailand.html
http://phuketdir.com/thebigblues/index.htm
http://www.phuket-travel.com/fishing/index.htm
http://fishing-phuket.com/
http://www.phuket.com/fishing/dorado/index.htm

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

:sailing:
jack

Thailand

Post by jack »

Thanks for the links Back-Cast

I am hoping to chase sail-fish but any of the big / fast palagics will do :twisted: just fine. I will let you know how I go and any tips or advice I pick up over there. It was by chance but the links you gave me all state that November is their best time for fishing so I hope lucks a fortune and I run into some Sailfish.

:cheers: Jack :cheers:
jack

thailand fishing report

Post by jack »

Ok back from Thailand, only went on one fishing charter. It was with Gotcha Big Fish charters out of Chalong Bay. Spent the morning catching Skip Jack Tuna and all afternoon chasing Sail Fish. We got plenty of tuna and the crew were very professional turning it into bait. The boat and all the equipment was absolutely first class. It was a western style fly-bridge 70ft boat with all the luxury you could imagine. :sailing: :sailing: The tackle was awesome with the rods and reels all high end Shimano gear. It was a beautiful day and it seemed to be a given that we would get some fish. We had an eight bait spread with all the teasers and stuff that goes with Sail Fish fishing. We sighted Sail Fish cutting up the surface, feeding almost continuously. Other boats got onto a number of fish. However as is the way with fishing sometimes the fish aren't in on the plan. We only raised one sail and he politely looked at our baits and promptly decided to leave. :banghead: That turned out to be our one and only chance :evil: Later as we returned to the bay I was happy that they had free beer on the boat which made the day seem a little better. :drinking5: So no fish but a great day out on the sea. I also learnt heaps of stuff from the deckies as they taught me how to rig up all the gear and how to tie and present baits. Better luck next time maybe.

:drinking1: Jack

Gday Jack, I'm heading to Phuket tonight for a month (again :angel: ).
Went on a charter once before but was not impressed. It obviously wasn't a first class show, all we caught was bonito. They wouldn't let us rig them for bait and then proceeded to feed them to us for lunch! :x
How much did your day set you back? (baht or $). It sounds like it might be worth a look.
Cheers Scotty