Page 1 of 4

Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:55 am
Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Re: Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:02 am
by Hemi
Drinking limits, licensing, regos.... Its all coming in so get used to it.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:37 am
by Fish Tank
Hell no! What if your doing an overnighter or longer and want to have a few drinks once your mored up for the evening? This is an attack on the Territory way of life. We're not like down south and can just get off the boat and camp on the bank.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:03 am
by NT Wombat
No way! Just upgraded to a bigger more comfy boat so the Mrs could come out and sober bob me back home from the ramp!

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:07 am
:lol: :lol: :lol: , fun police are circling . :moon: :moon: :moon:

Just dida edit and killed a cartom lucccky not on ythe waser fisinnn :drinking3: :drinking2: :drinking1: :drinking5: :drinking8: :drinking28: :drinking1: :drinking2: :drinking3: :drinking5: :drinking5: :drinking28: :drinking8: :drinking2: :drinking1: :croc: :drinking8: :drinking2: :drinking5: :drinking28: :drinking1: :drinking3: :drinking2: :drinking1: :drinking2: :drinking8: :drinking5: :drinking5: :drinking1: :drinking2:

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:19 pm
by Defiant
Good luck trying to police it if they did bring it in

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:02 pm
by madmortimer
Defiant wrote:Good luck trying to police it if they did bring it in
If they attach fines to DUI they'll police it, nothing surer. They're on the water and at ramps anyway, may as well do their bit and raise some revenue. :bs:

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:11 pm
by shaggs
We are all doomed,doomed I tell you LOL

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:31 pm
by tubbs
I think its coming anyway... regardless of the vote. however, I don't think its targeted necessarily at those of us that do overnighters. the last time I was inspected in the Apsley strait, the police boat had an open carton in sight on the deck. they enjoy a few beers when they are anchored up at night as well.
we have all seen people come back to the ramp visibly under the weather so to speak and then drive off in their car with trailer attached.... is that ok because its part of territory lifestyle?
I'm not a fan of the fun police, but there are some things which I can see the reasoning behind.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:36 pm
by palaran
No problem here in WA as Premier recently advised on TV that no such law will be introduced for WA.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:39 pm
by Fish Tank
tubbs wrote:I think its coming anyway... regardless of the vote. however, I don't think its targeted necessarily at those of us that do overnighters. the last time I was inspected in the Apsley strait, the police boat had an open carton in sight on the deck. they enjoy a few beers when they are anchored up at night as well.
we have all seen people come back to the ramp visibly under the weather so to speak and then drive off in their car with trailer attached.... is that ok because its part of territory lifestyle?
I'm not a fan of the fun police, but there are some things which I can see the reasoning behind.
"I don't think its targeted necessarily at those of us that do ..." said everyone in histroy just before a law was brought in and used for that exact reason.

"we have all seen people come back to the ramp visibly under the weather so to speak and then drive off in their car with trailer attached.... is that ok because its part of territory lifestyle?" Drink driving in your car is entirely a different story and is not part of the territory lifestyle. Thats when the cops can bust them.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:21 pm
by FTRAINED
I have no issue with 0.05 limit on the water. I haven't seen any proposal regs but I doubt it means you can't drink on the water. It will probably mean that you can't skipper while over the limit, and that seems fair to me. I've had a few experiences/near misses on the billabongs with skippers not looking their best and with can in hand (can't guarantee it was booze, drugs, illness or they hadn't slept for 48 hours). Anchored/tied up is a different matter, just like having a few beers in the back of your ute. But once you're on the tiller or wheel it's a different matter.

I reckon fishos have got issues if they can't enjoy the Territory way of life unless in charge of a boat while hammered.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:27 pm
by littlemack3
Why wreck somthing that is not doing any harm the territory is the last remaining state with a tiny bit of so called FREEDOOM left why would anyone that lives here even consider taking that so called freedom away and introduce more rules regulation just to complicate things and cost US a whole lot more money as if things aren't tight enough living in the territory without introducing more expensises and rules that will cost everyone of us. Blows my mind that anyone of us here would think anything of it limits regos etc fishing is the only real escape most of us have and here some are looking to ruin complacate and put more coin in the pollies pockets if you like rules and regs go live another state and see how much you like them then but just remember .05 only takes 3 stubbies and you kiss your drivers licence good bye to if you want to play like other states rant over over I'm OUT :cheers:

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:13 pm
by madmortimer
Now are we talking drugs and alcohol? What a way to reduce the fleet! Less boats more fish. :angel:

Of course, start with the pros first.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:57 pm
by seano
Not good. I like beer.