.05 for NT boaters ... here we go !!!! What's next ???

Goldcan

.05 for NT boaters ... here we go !!!! What's next ???

Post by Goldcan »

Re: .05 for NT boaters ... here we go !!!! What's next ???

Anyone wanna buy a boat?

:fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird: :fubird:

The true definition of political suicide right there.

Stay tuned,, Boat rego next .
Scotty69

Post by Scotty69 »

And boat licencing........

Well I’ve been a Labor voter my whole adult life, but the Fishing and Hunting party gets my vote from now on. :fishing: :sailing: :hunting: :cheers: :drinking5:

There will have to be two sober bobs on most boats up here. One to reverse the car down and one to drive the boat onto the trailer.

Meanwhile in downtown NT suburbs, the crime wave continues on unabated. Bus drivers getting stabbed, cars stolen, houses broken into, etc,etc.

Not to mention what’s going on at Tennant Creek. This wouldn’t have been timed as a distraction from that mess? Nah, I’m just cynical!

Flickin4em wrote:2 sober bobs LOL as if that'd happen ...

Reckon they'll try to take your car licence off you or just a fine ?
... disqualify you from boating perhaps ?

Gonna have to school my 10yo nephew on how to drive on the trailer

:drinking5:
He won’t be able to, as he will be too young to get a license to operate a watercraft.............

There will have to be two sober bobs on most boats up here. One to reverse the car down and one to drive the boat onto the trailer.
Interesting observation. Boats will have to be winched on to comply with the law if there are not two sober bobs.
NT Wombat

Post by NT Wombat »

Everyone get off their ass and write Gonner an email, I have sent the below.

Let him know that doing this will cost him his job, he's there to represent us - not implement his own agenda. If you say nothing now you've no right to whinge once the law is in place.

"Dear Mr Gunner,

I am just writing to inform you of my displeasure reading that the Northern Territory Government will introduce a 0.05% BAC limit for boaters. As a regular boater I see little to no evidence of Alcohol related incidents on NT Waterways. The ability to have a few drinks on the boat and then have a sober bob drive you home is one of the unique and treasured aspects of the NT lifestyle for myself and thousands of other boaters. There are already laws relating to unsafe operation of recreational vessels that are not enforced, perhaps enforcing the current laws would be a fairer solution, and one that does not detract from the unique NT experience.

I can assure you that myself, and every single one of my fishing friends and family will vote against this legislation at the next election.

Kind regards

Jamie Lewis

I don't condone in any way shape or form what the Gov is doing with is but it will be policed like any other jurisdiction that has boating alcohol related laws:

RBT and RDT do not apply when a vessel is moored, berthed or at anchor.
Being detected in excess of the permissible concentration of alcohol by way of a breath test may result in Police issuing a court attendance notice.

The operator of a vessel includes:
Anyone steering or exercising control over the course or direction of a vessel
The observer in a ski boat or personal watercraft
A person supervising the operator of a vessel under 16 years of age.

Scotty69

Post by Scotty69 »

Blinky, sorry mate, but that is incorrect (unless it has changed in the last 6 months) on the east coast at least, which I very much doubt.

Any person in charge of a vessel, even at anchor, must be sober (under 0.05 BAC).

I have no idea why you would need 2 x sober bobs. I go solo 99% of the time and just drive the boat up to the ramp and tie off. Jump off (or crawl in my case :D ) get the car, reverse the trailer.
Climb back onto the boat and drive on to the trailer. Hook up the boat and drive the car away.
Very simple. Maybe I should do a movie about it.
You all know that eventually we will have to comply with the rules as they apply everywhere else in Oz. I don’t know why people think we are sooo special up here

Here is Gunners e-mail address for those that want it :fubird:

[email protected]

I don't get overly passionate or 'militant' on too much stuff - but this will have my attention :evil:

Need to flood the NT News letters/text/email to the editor, and as Wombat has suggested, flood Gunna's office also with letters/emails.

:idea: many of you won't have been around this long, but time for another I Float and I Vote protest flotilla ...... marlin-sailfish-f10237/protest-this-sat ... it=protest