Boat Rego query.

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:29 am
by maxpower
Ive got a quick question.

With boats not needing to be registered here in the NT, does that mean it is illegal for me to go to another state and drop the boat in? If I was to head to say Kunnunarra for a couple of days would I need to register my boat in WA?

Are boats registered in other states allowed to fish in different states? Obviously every man and his dog is allowed to fish in the terrirory.

I dont want rego thats for sure but I was just wondering how it all works in case I head away to visit my mate in WA.

MP

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:58 am
by sheps
in 2002 i was pulled up by the waterways police in NSW and i showed them my
NT drivers lic, he didnt give me a ticket however he did tell me that the
boat needed to be registered somewhere.

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:05 am
by john d
Good question Maxpower
Not exactly sure but more than likley you will have to register your boat :bonk:
You may also have to get a licence. :banghead:
Heading west early next year and didnt give this much thought
Anyone know how to organise these while still in Darwin

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:53 am
by Fishful
I agree good question Maxpower. In 2013 I am taking a year of and doing a lap around Aust. I will tow a van with a tinnie on the roof and I was wondering the same thing when I enter each different state. I guessed I would have to register it in a state (I live in NT) and that would do for the rest :-? I also would like to know how I do this and what it involves to register it in another state ?

Rego

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:31 pm
by ftte
Just going through the process of this myself, for a trip East in November.

The sad news is you will need to register your boat. I will be registering in Qld and they want $166 for it. They have said that once I have finished my trip I can cancel the rego and they will refund what is unused.

Once it is registered you are AOK to fish in the other states as long as you are not there for more that 90 days.

NSW and SA are cheaper but they need to see the boat and as I am doing Qld first I have to register there. You can get the forms online and then you need to post them with a chq or Money order.

A couple of other things to consider, Boat Licenses (I am OK with this), boating regulations also differ from state to state eg in NSW you need to have a horn or whilst as a signalling device, there are likely more but that is one I have spotted.

Seriously considered not worrying about this as its a pain but really don't want the hassle on the water so will be a good boy and go through the process.

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:36 pm
by Dingo
Interesting topic, and I am sure it has been asked a while back.

In 2008 when I lived in the Vic River area I wnet to Kununurra a few times and put my boat in at the lake in town. Once when I was there the Mrine cops (or whatever they are called) were there checking rego's and safety equipment. When he got to my boat, I said what is the go. He said to me that everything was sweet as that is the rules in the state/territory that you live in, I just had to apply to WAs safety regs and I was on my way.

Things may be different now.

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:04 pm
by Chriso
I did a quick check of the other states when I was living back in NSW before starting the trip that got me up here. Seems the other states are happy if your boat is registered somewhere, and also that you have a marine licence issued somewhere.

Makes it a bit hard when you're based in the Territory :bonk:

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:42 am
by john d
What is the alcohol level for operating a boat in other states.
Is your boat licence joined to your car licence.
If you do one do you loose all of them.

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:03 pm
by Billster
Not sure about he rest but in Qld it is .05 on the water and if you get done in the boat you do your car ticket as well.

Vic boat rego

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:49 pm
by chanos
I am "temporarily" working here in Vic and asked the Marine dudes what the rules for me were. The act states that temp visitors may use their boat whilst here as long as it complies with their place of permanent residence rules. I told them that the NT doesnt have rego or licences, they replied, "lucky for me". Haven't been quizzed yet and its pretty obvious with no big black numbers that its not registered and had the police drive by heaps.

Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:53 am
by nomad
You have to comply with the laws of the particular state or territory that you are in. it's simple really.
Just because we can go out and drink the entire contents of the esky here doesn’t mean that other states allow the same behaviours there. if you get busted in NSW over 0.05, you end up in court the same as if you were driving a car p...ed.

Taken from the WA website

Boats / vessels that must be registered
If your boat has a motor, or is fitted for one, it must be registered with the Department and is subject to an annual registration fee. Yachts, canoes, surf skis and other craft without motors and not fitted to carry one, are not required to be registered.
Exemptions from registration
A tender to a larger vessel is exempt provided it fits the following conditions:
• It is no more than 3.1 metres long, has a motor no bigger than 3.73kW (5hp); and is used only as a lifeboat and for ship to shore transport.

• If your boat is currently registered in another State, you have three months grace after bringing it into WA. After that time, you must register it in this State.

http://www.dpi.wa.gov.au/imarine/19093.asp

re licences
http://www.dpi.wa.gov.au/imarine/19098.asp

check the other states websites and youll realise how 'lucky' we are with no rules

Don’t take someone else’s word for it. check it out for yourself and then youve got no one to blame when it turns to poop

Re: Boat Rego query.

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:21 pm
by bushie
yep, boat has to registetred somewhere. I had to register my boats when I was in the pilbara, pain in the bum getting it done as well.
The big numbers stuck on the side came off pretty quickly when I got back to the Territory!

Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:51 am
by Faulksy
Bushie I rekon ill win tatts before I get hold of someone to give me a HIN number. This joint is out of control with regulations and rules and $$$$$costs

Re: Vic boat rego

Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:56 am
by harmsey
chanos wrote:I am "temporarily" working here in Vic and asked the Marine dudes what the rules for me were. The act states that temp visitors may use their boat whilst here as long as it complies with their place of permanent residence rules. I told them that the NT doesnt have rego or licences, they replied, "lucky for me". Haven't been quizzed yet and its pretty obvious with no big black numbers that its not registered and had the police drive by heaps.

would like to see that in writting somewhere, would make for a very interesting court case :D

but in response to the original Q YES you do have to register to launch across the border. in QLD you can cancel and get a refund of the unused portion of the rego less some fees and some insurance bits that can be refunded.

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:42 pm
by deepblack
If your boat is currently registered in another State, you have three months grace after bringing it into WA. After that time, you must register it in this State.
Hmmm... Does this mean if I am an NT resident I can go for three months with no rego? And if not, how much is the fine? If it is small then should I just take the chance and wear it?

Australia needs to get real at some point, National Boat and Vehicle Rego and National Licencing, it's 2010 for f#@%*! sake! And before us Territorians start complaining too loud, could you identify that a...hole in the unpainted tinnie that stole your crabs if you saw him again? :fubird: Or what about the joker in his big tin with the excess horsepower who nearly had a head on with you because he didn't stick to the right side of the cutting??? :evil: Just my opinion feel free to disagree.....

Cheers, :cheers:
John.