Page 1 of 4

Show us your water crossing picture

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:29 pm
by Dex38
Thought I'd put up a photo of the kids and I crossing a small water crossing on the way back from the East a few years ago.

No snorkel, just a 50mm lift kit and some nervous moments when the bow wave picked up.

Dex

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:11 pm
by DNO62
Mate that photo looks like it was taken from someone's boat :surf: :surf: :surf:

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:09 pm
by nomad
Not sure if I put this before but this is not the best way to cross the Daly

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:15 pm
by Dick
Granite Creek Apr 04. I slept in my car rather than cross :grin:

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:35 pm
by Dex38
Looks like I should have made the topic about water crossing mishaps.

I was lucky enough to have DNO offer to take my wife across as ballast :rofl: in his boat, therefore we got a few nice pictures.

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:09 pm
by Dick
Back on track :grin:

Fletcher's Creek about 600mm

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:21 am
by Dingo
Nothing to deep

But crossing the Pentecost is certainly one of the most scenic crossings in the Kimberley. 8-)

And crossing the King Edward to get to Mitchell Falls, What a ripper spot that is. :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:51 am
by punter
nomad wrote:Not sure if I put this before but this is not the best way to cross the Daly

Those gubermint muddicas are meant to go anywhere!!! That was a brand new vehicle too eh!

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:17 am
by bandit
this pic is from a few years ago, crossing the goyder on the road to gove.

Re: Show us your water crossing picture

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:15 pm
by fishfanatic
Me driving a the work ute a few years ago here at the Tanami after some nice flooding rain. :| Would not do this with my own vehicle :D
I was lucky not to have missed the track :o :wink:

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:15 pm
by nomad
All work vehicles carry more load, go faster, never need a service and go thru deep water compared to your own unit.
:lolpoint:
I used to do 4x4 tours and you wouldn’t believe the number of people who wanted to drive thru deep water or into the surf ‘like they show on the ads’.
I now only do deep water if the vehicle has a pointy end and a motot hanging off the back

Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:44 pm
by BEAR
crossing magela at 1.2m, dont try it unless you know how to repair your own vehicle or have deep pockets :bricks: crossing water this deep requires vigilent maintenance but the fishing is worth it :mrgreen:

Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:09 pm
by ajbear
Some top class pic's here. Somewhere I have a video of a crossing I did at .9 or 1mtr that comes halfway up the bonnet of my hilux, few tense moments there esp with the boat in tow, I'll try and pull a few stills from the video and post them!

Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:21 pm
by Faulksy
A couple of cracker pucker tightening shots there.

Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:02 am
by nomad
BEAR wrote:crossing magela at 1.2m, dont try it unless you know how to repair your own vehicle or have deep pockets :bricks: crossing water this deep requires vigilent maintenance but the fishing is worth it :mrgreen:
You're right about the maintenance. Many people think that if they have a snorkel, they will be right. Not quite. The air filter has a valve in the base and that must work properly as well.
A blind across the front will also stop the radiator being pushed back into the fan

get a bow wave working and stay at the same speed, dont change gears or use the clutch