Who is DOUG? Check out these fish instead!!

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:25 am
by Banjo
Just moved over to the UK and was a bit sad to miss the runoff but i am more than making up for it just walking around the village!
DSC02196.JPG
DSC02111.JPG
DSC02113.JPG
DSC02155.JPG
DSC02185.JPG
DSC02146.JPG
DSC02149.JPG

Re: Who is DOUG? Check out these fish instead!!

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:09 am
by AM
Keep your eye out for Doug over there when your wandering

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:57 am
by Once Bitten
Wicked fish mate. Looks prehistoric. Nice razor chompers. What type of fish is it? Give you much of a fight?

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:17 am
by ozdodge
Cool. Spooky fish!

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:59 am
I think it is a pike of some sort. 2nd fish would be an English Perch or Redfin. One of the delightful introduced species into Australia. Very cool by the way 8)

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:10 am
by madseb
The first fish is a European pike the grow to 25-30 kg

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:16 am
by cards
Pike & Perch!

Good Fish.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:06 am
Beautiful fish. My dad has a picture of huge pike he caught as a teenager in the UK, best fish he has caught. When he came to Australia he caught bigger redfin in the Murray River than they had back in the UK where the redfin came from.

Chase some barbel Banjo, supposedly the pinnacle of UK coarse fishing. Although carp seem to have the biggest following, weird eh.

Gotta love UK fishing, you can buy maggots in different colours and sizes at the best bait shops :-)

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:51 am
by shaggs
Well done mate

Matt you get maggots in all different colours and sizes around Darwin here

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:30 am
by Agent86
nice fish there well done

good to see you can just go for a wander and a flick and have a bit of fun

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:55 pm
by Banjo
Yep they are Pike and Redfin. The pike do fight pretty well and iv been catching them on 8 lb line so its good fun in the canal with no snags around! Seriously aggressive fish when they see your lure, i have nailed every one of them that i have sight cast to. They have a massive gob and have no worries swallowing large lures. Some of them jump like Barra also and slash those teeth around! So far out of 3 half day sessions iv landed 15 Pike and 2 good Perch. Went out for a couple of hours yesterday to try and get one on a big Rapala Skitter Pop and hooked a huge perch but lost him at the bank. Have caught a lot of perch in my time but never on a surface lure! Yes Matt the Barbel look like they would pull pretty hard and they grow to a decent size but the river season is closed for about 3 months and i don't think you get many in the canals. Getting the pike nutted out now so going up to 15 lb line to chase some bigger ones at some more out of the way places.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:58 pm
by Banjo
A seriously beautiful animal.
DSC02186.JPG
DSC02153.JPG
DSC02154.JPG

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:03 pm
by ken_dog
Nice fish, what's it got to do with Doug?

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:29 pm
by Banjo
It means stop all the forum bickering and post some fish stories.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:36 pm
by AM
Banjo wrote:A seriously beautiful animal.
DSC02186.JPG
DSC02153.JPG
DSC02154.JPG
Any good to eat?