Jiggy Jiggy in Bali

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:51 pm
by Aaron G
G'day Forum,

Hello, my name is Aaron and its been 164 days since my last fish... (roughly 5 new moons)

Which is a lot of moons :| by any fisho's standard

I broke the drought over in Bali while on R&R from deployment.
Couple of fish caught, nothing crazy, but was so good to wet a line again
it had been far too long.

I chose this charter http://www.fishingbalisensation.com/
Because rather then a bottom bouncing, it was a jigging charter
which I really wanted to try

Those that are interested, fish were caught on 250gm -350gm. (jigs looked like glow n the dark squid on one side and a pillie on the other) set with 2 hooks
In water from 150+ to 60+
My captain's hot tip, was to imitated a hurt fish just of the bottom.

The craziest part, was not only did I barter a better price with the charter company,
I was the only punter on there 4 person minimum charter boat.

Had it all to myself.

Anyways Lads,
All the best for the run off,
things sounds pretty grim at the moment back there,
hopefully things will happen soon

Some of the pics are from the charter, others are from Aquarium's in Bali and Dubai. Thought u guys might like.

PS Back over on Deployment, I was shocked when
A man came up and asked if I was Aaron?
I thought here we go, what have i down now.
The man told me he recognised my face from FFF
And introduced himself as 'Doors Off'

Small world

Tight Lines
Aaron

Re: Jiggy Jiggy in Bali

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:18 pm
by Ibbsy
Some nice fish Aaron.

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:29 am
Cool photos. Love the photo of Borat at the aquarium :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:47 am
by itsinmeblood
Lats wrote:Cool photos. Love the photo of Borat at the aquarium :mrgreen:
:lol:
either that or he's had a massive feed of vegemite toast for brekky... :D

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:19 am
by smarty
Some interesting looking fish there...Bet it felt good too get fishing again...

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:27 am
by Mud
Special ops......need the mo to infiltrate Taliban parties....

Cool you bumped into Doors Off......long time FFFer

How's the colour in that toga thing!

Keep ya noggin down!

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:12 am
by balou
Great post Aaron...might check out that charter next time I'm in bali

Mud, that a saratoga thing is a red arawona. It one of the best aquarium fish from Asian.
Last I time I was home in vietnam i saw my uncle cry like a baby when his prize fish died after 20 years.
He had a pair of them in seperate tanks as they are very aggressive. the other one still going today.

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:52 pm
by craig.g
Nice post Aaron keep ya head down and come home safe mate

Cheers Craig

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:47 pm
by drifter
Aaron G wrote: PS Back over on Deployment, I was shocked when
A man came up and asked if I was Aaron?
I thought here we go, what have i down now.
The man told me he recognised my face from FFF
And introduced himself as 'Doors Off'
What a small world we live in. What are the odds of that. You're in a Country on deployment, of a population of how ever many million.

OK, You and Doors Off maybe in defence (although thats only a guess that Doors Off is military).

So the chances are reduced somewhat (there are only so many camps).... But, what are the chances, that they see each other & Doors Off recogineses you from a photo on FFF

I would think the chances would be about 90% - dosen't every one watch FFF (thats got to be worth a free lure, Matt)

FFF is evrywhere (thats got to be worth another lure) :D