G'day from Portland

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:28 am
by volkoff
Hey guys I'm currently living in Portland Victoria but I'm getting relocated to Darwin in a couple of months. We will be living there for 3 years. Can you guys tell me some boat ramps that have pontoons, it's just a first I will be fishing alone so I will need a boat ramp to tie the boat off. Another question what are some good suburbs to live in? I can't wait to get up there. I'm originally from Adelaide and I miss the hot weather. I know Darwin is always hot but I'm sure we will get used to it. Well we bl..dy will have to.

Cheers guys :fishing:

Re: G'day from Portland

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:54 am
by ponyplay
How bigs ya boat, you can still launch solo from all ramps just tie it of to mangroves or anchor in mud rocks while ya move ya car. Unless ya cant get ya feet dirty :wink:

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:59 am
by volkoff
Yeh it's 5.2 meter glass boat. Yeh I'm sure I can anchor in the mud. Any boat ramps you can recommend?

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:01 am
by volkoff
I can't wait to do some fishing up here!

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:10 am
by Mud
Hi Volkoff. If you look in the Fish Finder mag it shows all the boatramps. The ones in the harbour left of and including Dinahs beach have pontoons. Look forward to catching up when you get here. Cheers.

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:34 am
by volkoff
Mud wrote:Hi Volkoff. If you look in the Fish Finder mag it shows all the boatramps. The ones in the harbour left of and including Dinahs beach have pontoons. Look forward to catching up when you get here. Cheers.
Cheers Mud, thanks allot. Yeh catch ya soon.

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:11 am
by volkoff
ponyplay wrote:How bigs ya boat, you can still launch solo from all ramps just tie it of to mangroves or anchor in mud rocks while ya move ya car. Unless ya cant get ya feet dirty :wink:
cheers mate!

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:29 pm
by ponyplay
Mud wrote:Hi Volkoff. If you look in the Fish Finder mag it shows all the boatramps. The ones in the harbour left of and including Dinahs beach have pontoons. Look forward to catching up when you get here. Cheers.

As mud said, if ya got glass boat mate your going to have to travel steady around the harbour arms a lot rock bars etc. Do as much research as you can and get the fish finder book and study it :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:50 pm
by STANDY
Lot of rock bars up here. Plate boats are the norm up here but still ok for glass boats just limited options on a big low tide. 7-8 meter tides so you have to do your tide homework. Most of the out of town roads to ramps are dirt so make sure your trailer is up to it before you come.

As boys have said Fish Finder mag is the bible up here.
Pay to service trailer and boat before you come up to save a few bucks.

Stop buying small bream lures now :croc:

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:59 am
by volkoff
Thanks for all your help guys, i did consider selling my boat for a plate boat. Its a Carribbean Crestcutter. It has a a brand new suzuki 115hp 4 stroke on it. I also want to take it out in the ocean. Yes i will have to read up on the tides and get the safe passages.

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:52 am
by volkoff
I will read up on tides once i get that book and follow closes on the pc. How is to fishing out in the harbour, and off shore. Surely a glass boat would be better suited to the. Is east arm is that cluttered with rock bar? I just don't think i will be taking my boat to any rivers as i will be to heavy and maybe some of the roads my trailer may not like. I have a 4x4 triton so my car will handle it ok. Just need to do a couple of mods to it before trekking to far out. So it always pays to get some local knowledge.

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:26 am
by STANDY
Boat would be ok for harbour and reef fishing. great dry season fishing for tuna and mackerel even sails if you go wide enough.

You can order book online through FFFshop.

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:02 am
by Queasy
volkoff wrote:it's just at first I will be fishing alone so I will need a boat ramp to tie the boat off.
Welcome volkoff,
shouldn't be a need to fish alone if you don't want to. I'm yet to do a solo trip up here.

Depending mostly on times, you should be able to find a deckie off this site who can also show you around. I've been out on heaps of others' boats, as well as taken out plenty in my own runabout.

Best ramp IMO is the palmerston ramp on elizabeth river, usable on pretty much all tides and has a pontoon. Fishfinder indicates usable tides on all ramps but most become difficult under about 2-2.5.

Enjoy!

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:58 pm
by volkoff
Queasy wrote:
volkoff wrote:it's just at first I will be fishing alone so I will need a boat ramp to tie the boat off.
Welcome volkoff,
shouldn't be a need to fish alone if you don't want to. I'm yet to do a solo trip up here.

Depending mostly on times, you should be able to find a deckie off this site who can also show you around. I've been out on heaps of others' boats, as well as taken out plenty in my own runabout.

Best ramp IMO is the palmerston ramp on elizabeth river, usable on pretty much all tides and has a pontoon. Fishfinder indicates usable tides on all ramps but most become difficult under about 2-2.5.

Enjoy!

Thanks allot guys, will have to look you guys up when i come up. Will be great to do some fishing together.

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:25 pm
by volkoff
Can you guys recommend some good suburbs to live in? Family friendly and with local doctors close and that sort of thing. We should be moving up around 5th of April but now it could be early as middle of march. Work is going to put us up i a hotel for a couple of weeks that way we can find a house. Trying to find a house for the 2 cars and the boat. I will be working in Darwin city. We figured probably max of 20-30ks out. Have been looking at house in Howard springs and durak and gun and those sort of areas but we don't really know which is best suited.