cod while trout fishing

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:52 pm
by barra mick
hi

two trips ago i was casting a lure into a tiny inlet of a lake ,no more than a foot deep that i spotted a brown trout in.

got smacked by this cod......who no doubt was after the same trout as me !!

no sure what he weighed or any of that cause once i got the lure out i put him back

scared the sh...t out of me though !!!

Re: cod while trout fishing

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:40 am
by Mud
Oh my cod!! A nice surprise there BM!

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:02 am
by Bullet
Were you really expecting a trout to take that No# 2 stump jumper Mick??? :?

Or did you know there was cod in there?

:drinking1: :mrgreen:

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:05 pm
by barra mick
hi,

yep i use them all the time for trout ( im pretty sure its a small stumpy,not a 2 )

probably catch at least half of my trout on stumpies ,the trout love them.

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:08 pm
by jersy
So do the cod,BM.They cant resist a stumpy.. top bycatch! Stoked with that i bet. Well done..

Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:17 pm
by punter
Didn't have a dark line through the eye towards the nose did it mate? Bit hard to see from the photies. Looks a little like a trout cod, protected and rare ....unless you know where they have been stocked .... :wink:

prolly not....

http://www.nativefish.asn.au/coddiff.html

Nice fish though on light gear :catch:

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:11 pm
by barra mick
hi punter,
`
definatly not a trout cod...ive caught a few before around toc and yarra.there about the only places near me ive caught them.

as far as i know ( which is not a great deal ) there isnt any trout cod in eldion ????

somebody else may no if there is any stocked in eldion ???

thanks for the link though...interesting reading

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:31 pm
by punter
No worries....I know of a reservoir not too far away from Eildon that has heaps! Just a bit difficult to get too if you catch my drift. Beautiful fish!