Page 1 of 3

Leader knots

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:14 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
Hi all, just interested to know what leader knot other people use. I have found that I am best at tying a double uni knot, but in using this knot i have managed to bust out the guides in two of my rods. I now use an improved albright and it seems to be working much better.

Re: Leader knots

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:25 pm
by dannett
Once I learned the FG knot, I have never looked back. Heaps of different ways to tie it, but the over and under methods are pretty easy.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NxbfYM0KOU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P12MflMhtyc
Rather than loop around my hand or in my teeth, I tie a quick loop and put that over my foot. With the rod in a holder I can then do the over and unders, lock it off and finish the knot.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:27 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
I tried the FG but i couldnt get the hang of the lock off, so gave up. Managed to tie it successfully once, couldnt replicate it again lol.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:35 pm
by dannett
The lock off is easy. Just tie a half hitch and pull it tight as it will go. Done. Then just add a half a dozen more half hitches to ramp up the knot. Trim the tag nice and close and then do another dozen half hitches. The half hitches do nothing more than protect the end of the knot from damage.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:37 pm
by dannett
The second best option in my opinion is the wind-on leaders. Tie a loop knot in your preferred manner (bimmi or figure 8 variant) and then loop in the wind on.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:52 pm
by nomad
Ive had 2 FG knots let go and fail while I was on Nomad charters fighting BIG GT’s.
The guide tied the knots so not my fault.
They are good on just about everything we get here.
But im a bit gun shy so I still use the Albright and have never had a problem
Try http://www.animatedknots.com for step by step

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:57 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
Thanks for all the responses guys. Might give the fg another try after some of your advice. I think im like you Nomad, I can do it but im too nervous to.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:19 pm
by mickkk
I only know the fg knot. Spent about 5 hrs one night with youtube.
Once you get a few snags, and try like fark to break it off and still can’t gives you some confidence. But give them a good old test to check.
In saying that, I have lost one or maybe 2 fish. Nothing worse when you wind it in and see the squiggly end where the knot let go.

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:22 pm
by jonr
The FG is the go... biggest mistake people make is trying to do too many wraps, Stick to 20. And the other one is not pulling the knot tight Enough. Make sure you use gloves or wrap it around yor arms on a long sleeve fishing shirt. When you see they braid on the knot change colour that the correct tightness

Jon

And this is the way I do it.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oohOoOOmbNk

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:27 pm
by Young_gun_fisho
Thanks mate

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:51 pm
FG all the way. I do about 18 wraps over/under tightening after every 2. Lock it with 3 alternating half hitches and pull everything very tight. 2 more half hitches before cutting the flurocarbon tag and tightening again. Then 5 more alternating half hitches with the last being a triple hitch to lock everything. Never had one pull apart.

To get the tension in my braid I have the rod in the rod holder and tie the braid back onto the console

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:16 am
by scottmac
Lats wrote:FG all the way. I do about 18 wraps over/under tightening after every 2. Lock it with 3 alternating half hitches and pull everything very tight. 2 more half hitches before cutting the flurocarbon tag and tightening again. Then 5 more alternating half hitches with the last being a triple hitch to lock everything. Never had one pull apart.

To get the tension in my braid I have the rod in the rod holder and tie the braid back onto the console
Great knot, but way too much f$&king around out in the field of battle when the fish are on. Improved Albright all the way!

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:16 am
by Gibbsy
Fg for me too. As jonr said one of biggest mistakes is not locking knot off properly and not clinching knot down as you do wraps. The knot should change colour of braid. I get that knot to go through the guides of the St Croix easy enough. Just keep practicing it's the only way to get it down packed.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:34 am
by Gibbsy
Oh and don't let lin go slack when doing the fg.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:38 am
by fishhunter81
I haven't looked back since switching to the FG.